No Favorites after map upgrade!

Hi Forum,

I'm a noob in this forum, but have registered after having problems with Favorites...

Just updated my map after having an offer e-mail, and all my favorites have gone. Searching to the support site, it details creating a "Favorite POI" set, but on my TT One V4 (30 series ? 125 ?) , I have no option to create POI.

This is very frustrating as the next map updates that I'll get, I'll have to rebuild my favorites.

I have opened a support request, but as yet, no response.

Anyone else had this ?

Ta

Lainchy

Copy the mapsettings.cfg file from your backed up previous map to the new specific map folder.

Update from support

Hi Dhn,

MapSettings.cfg is the updated file ;)

I've backed up my One manually to a folder on the desktop, then created two new favorites on my device... then backed up to another folder on the desktop.

I ran a folder comparison tool, and it had changed MapSettings.cfg.

I had an old backup copy from when I bought the device in November, so I copied the MapSettings.cfg file from that, albeit from an earlier map release (840.2561) to the map folder, and the "Favorites" icon greyed out, and it didn't know where home was. The new map version that I have is the latest... (845.2666)

I've asked for the fault to be passed to R&D, as basically, they've told me that if copying the MapSettings.cfg file doesn't work, then I'll have to re-enter all the Favorites manually at every map update... which is just not feasible.

Come on TomTom... this is why i went with you and not Garmin !!!

Lainchy

You are experiencing the reason why many people have utilized a custom favourites.ov2 file that can easily be copied from map to map. See this link for information how.

Hi Dhn,

I've had a good read of that link... many thanks.