New App Update this morning and info on Map downloads

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Guttboy, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. Guttboy

    Guttboy

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas/NM
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    Hi All....

    After getting the TT910 up and running (thanks pedro) I updated this AM. New patch for the app was out and it is 6.525!

    Unfortunately my TT910 reverted BACK to a very early update...Tech support was great and they walked me through everything.

    Additionally the Downloadable maps are avail thru 15 Jun 07. They will probably continue to support the downloadable maps as there have been complaints that not all users have DVD readers for their computers.

    I donwloaded the maps today!

    Gotta love this site!!!!

    Take Care!:)

    UPDATE: The HOME software has NOT caught up with the App update 6.525 yet...Tech Support says soon.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2007
    Guttboy, Apr 26, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Guttboy

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Your welcome!

    oh no, How did that happen?
    Well Im glad Support was helpful.
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 27, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Guttboy

    Guttboy

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas/NM
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    Pedro,

    They are not sure....but they did get me back up and running! They also stated that the ONLY way to get traffic updates is to use the phone only.....will have to touch base with you on that one again!

    Regards!
     
    Guttboy, Apr 27, 2007
    #3
  4. Guttboy

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    this is true. you have to activate traffic through the phone. It should working using virtual tt after that.
    Let me try it out first
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 27, 2007
    #4
  5. Guttboy

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Interesting, so there is a new version of the firmware for the TT510/910.

     
    digital-flex, Apr 27, 2007
    #5
  6. Guttboy

    Guttboy

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas/NM
    TomTom Model(s):
    910

    Yes...it is 6.525....it came out this morning but the HOME software has not caught up with the update the girl at TT told me.
     
    Guttboy, Apr 27, 2007
    #6
  7. Guttboy

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I see, so you cannot install it through HOME as of yet.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 27, 2007
    #7
  8. Guttboy

    Guttboy

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas/NM
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    I Installed it via home Digi....came up as an update on mine.
     
    Guttboy, Apr 27, 2007
    #8
  9. Guttboy

    berkisho

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    East Brunswick, NJ
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    Anyone know what changes are in this update (6.525)?
     
    berkisho, Apr 27, 2007
    #9
  10. Guttboy

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Yup, its post#5 in this thread.

    Here is the official link.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 27, 2007
    #10
  11. Guttboy

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Careful with updates !

    I got upate 6.24 this AM. Backed up before installing, then made the mistake (apparently) of installing in on my 910. It works OK, but will no longer connect to any computer. Get error message saying "device not recognized". Some times it says "new device installed, ready to use" - but it is still not visible anywhere as a device, and of couse there is no way to restore backup since I cannot connect to the device.

    TT Support wants me to try new dock they are sending, but I already have two (they had sent me one when working on another problem) - so i don't think that will make any difference.

    They said next step is RMA, but that can take months I hear.

    Anyone have any ideas/suggestions on how to get re-connected ?
     
    GAW, Apr 28, 2007
    #11
  12. Guttboy

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Oh no thats terrible.

    The error message "device not recognized" or "new device installed, ready to use", does that come up as soon as you connect the device to your computer? can you try different USB ports when you connect to the comp?
     
    digital-flex, Apr 28, 2007
    #12
  13. Guttboy

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    It is when it is first pluggeed in, turned one, etc. Alos, that is with 3 different computers.

    Thanks for your response,

    It may turn out to be a hardware issue - I have been having problems with computer crashes for several months what connecting the TT to the computer. If that is the case, then it may not be the upgrade - although it was during the installation process that the problems with the device not recognized start.

    Has anyone else had a problem with the upgrade?

    PS - the device has Tripmaster on it (which still works ok), so TT might want to blame it on that. However, given the USB connection issues that have been ongoing for months, I do not believe that has anything to do with "device not recognized".

    Another question for anyone - how long has it taken to return for service with an RMA and get it sent back ?
     
    GAW, Apr 28, 2007
    #13
  14. Guttboy

    andyjstewart

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Morin Heights
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 920
    I have Tripmaster installed, and the upgrade wnet fine on my 910. Everything is working as expected (I think).
    Good luck,
    Andy
     
    andyjstewart, Apr 28, 2007
    #14
  15. Guttboy

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Actually TomTom's website hasn't updated with the info on 6.525

    the lastest info is on 6.254 which was when the FM transmitter mount came out.

    GAW, that horrible news. Something went wrong here!
    Im not to familar how long it will take to get your unit back if you send it in.
    Keep us updated.
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 28, 2007
    #15
  16. Guttboy

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    My bad, I was off by .001

    Currently no release notes are available for the point upgrade (6.525).
     
    digital-flex, Apr 28, 2007
    #16
  17. Guttboy

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    There isn't but there are other users reporting that its suppose to help with manually tuning to a TMC channel (not important for North America users).

    Another user reported that the enbable_handfree through car's speakers doesn't work anymore.
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 28, 2007
    #17
  18. Guttboy

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    :eek: You don't want to lose that.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 28, 2007
    #18
  19. Guttboy

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    No I don't. :eek:
    This is my best feature, be able to hear my text messages and phone conversations through my car's speakers.
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 28, 2007
    #19
  20. Guttboy

    RandyR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Kentucky USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    910 w/ v7.10 maps
    Did anyone ever figure out what this new update was all about for USA users?

    Looks like a few people had problems with it. Have most of you performed this update sucessfully? I have not updated yet.

    Randy
     
    RandyR, May 4, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.