tomtom 950 live application update

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Big Paul, Jan 25, 2019.

  1. Big Paul

    Big Paul

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one/tomtom 910/tomtom 950 live/tomtom 6100
    Hi all ..... i connected my 950 live to tomtom home and it said i had a application update but not enough internal memory to install.
    it siad i had to remove items from my device.
    i purchased a micro sdhc 8gb sandisk card on the advice of tom tom ( max 16gb for this device)
    The device doesn't seem to see the card.
    i have reset the device and turned back on and waited for the unit to fire up .plugged the card in but it doesn't ask ....do you wasnt to format this card .
    i have tried to format it to fat 32 on a laptop but still the same .it doesn't see the card when put in the device.
    can anyone help on this matter please .
     
    Big Paul, Jan 25, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Big Paul

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    With the card in the device, try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds. See if it sees the card then.
     
    dhn, Jan 25, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Big Paul

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,903
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Perhaps a different question: When you connect the 950 with the card installed, does your PC see the card as a separate external drive?
     
    canderson, Jan 26, 2019
    #3
  4. Big Paul

    Big Paul

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one/tomtom 910/tomtom 950 live/tomtom 6100
    Thank you ,but still no luck .
    the device dosent give me any indication that the card is installed in the device.i think it should say do you want to format this disc
    i have left the card in the device and connected the device to my mac using the device dock.
    my mac computer does see the micro card
    when i open up tomtom home and go to update the application and speed cameras etc it says not enough space on internal memory.
    home software shows a long bar withe the amount of memory ued and free space
    should it show the memory card the same ?
     
    Big Paul, Jan 26, 2019
    #4
  5. Big Paul

    Big Paul

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one/tomtom 910/tomtom 950 live/tomtom 6100
    hi ,thanks .........it shows the memory card on the computer when the device is connected with the device mount but it doesnt show the memory card in tom tom home
     
    Big Paul, Jan 26, 2019
    #5
  6. Big Paul

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,903
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    OK. That makes quite a difference in the description. Wanted to be sure that the TomTom and the PC were both seeing the card OK. Now we're only talking about Home.
    However, as to your first issue, let's be certain about the nature of the problem regarding internal memory. As I recently pointed out to another member, Apple has a strange way of dealing with deleted files on external drives. Unlike Windows, when files are deleted on an external drive, the 'trash' isn't moved to the PC's trash can ... it's left in a local trash can on the external drive, eating up that much available memory. That's true for TomTom Nav2 units like yours, thumb drives, etc. So since we're only talking about the app and speed cameras, let's be sure that isn't an issue. EMPTY the trash to make sure there's not still a bunch of deleted files residing in the TomTom's trash can.

    We'll operate on the assumption that even if the above works to free up the necessary space, we still need Home to see the card in your device.

    When you connect your device and Home first wakes up to service it (be sure Home is already shut down before connecting your device for this purpose), Home should produce a screen that looks like this if the card is correctly formatted (FAT32):

    upload_2019-1-26_15-13-30.jpeg

    Based upon your comments about Home, would it be correct to assume that you do NOT see that screen when you get connected and Home wakes up?
     
    canderson, Jan 26, 2019
    #6
  7. Big Paul

    Big Paul

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one/tomtom 910/tomtom 950 live/tomtom 6100
    Hi canderson , thank you for all the info . I have tried a restart , drum roll with the card in the device and I get no visual message that the device has seen the card ,
    Am I supposed to get a visual message on the device . ..?
    I am also not seeing your picture you posted ,
    TomTom home is only showing the internal memory
    Y
    Thanks big paul
     
    Big Paul, Jan 27, 2019
    #7
  8. Big Paul

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    The only message you get is the first time that the FAT32 card has been formatted by the device.

    When formatting the FAT32 on the PC first it is essential that "full" formatting is applied, NOT quick format.
    (Just to be sure.)
     
    Arno, Jan 27, 2019
    #8
  9. Big Paul

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,903
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Be sure to pick up Arno's comment, above.

    When Home can see the device's internal memory, but fails to see an SD or uSD card inserted into a device, and the PC sees both, that's an indication that Home does not recognize the card as part of the TomTom. I have not seen that happen after a full FAT32 format and a reset on the device after the card is installed as David recommended earlier.

    @Arno
    For Nav2 devices like the 950 that operate with Home, the device will not ask to format the card. That only occurs at Nav3 and later units where the file system is created by the device. The OP's 950 will be perfectly happy to accept a FAT32 formatted card without any additional fiddling by the device's OS.
     
    canderson, Jan 27, 2019
    #9
  10. Big Paul

    Big Paul

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom one/tomtom 910/tomtom 950 live/tomtom 6100
    Thanks Arno I will give it a try
     
    Big Paul, Jan 28, 2019
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.