My Tom Tom keeps turning itself "ON"

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by RFischer, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. RFischer

    RFischer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornhill, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920
    Since I've been on the forums tonight, I've had to turn my Tom Tom off 3 times. oops make that 4 now ... it keeps turning itself ON ... anyone else with that problem ??
     
    RFischer, Dec 1, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. RFischer

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    There was an epidemic of units turning on by themselves a couple of months ago and nobody has pinned down precisely the cause or cure.

    A few say it happens when the unit is docked; others say it's happening if the unit is undocked and turned off.

    Some suggestions include making sure the 'clear route' is done prior to shutting down the unit. See whether that applies in your case.
     
    dhn, Dec 1, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. RFischer

    RFischer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornhill, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920
    It was undocked, and 'no route planned' ... It behaved itself after the 5th time I turned it off ... but I have the unit doing this occasionally and it's quite random in nature.
     
    RFischer, Dec 1, 2008
    #3
  4. RFischer

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    A few say they copied EVERYTHING from the unit to the hard drive, reformatted the unit and restored everything and that stopped it for them.

    Dunno if you want to try that. I have no definitive answers to this one. Sorry.
     
    dhn, Dec 1, 2008
    #4
  5. RFischer

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    You might try the "clear_flash" tool.

    I also had some minor issues with my 920 including that, and after the above and completely clearing out the application form the 920 (including the previously downloaded applications in Home download files) and letting Home re-download and install the application seems to have cleared it up.
     
    GAW, Dec 1, 2008
    #5
  6. RFischer

    thestaton

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    just one of the many reasons I had to return my 920t.
     
    thestaton, Dec 3, 2008
    #6
  7. RFischer

    RFischer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornhill, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920
    Thanks for the input .. I'll keep my eye onit, and if it gets too annoying, I'll try and reformat / load it up ... again - thanks!
     
    RFischer, Dec 4, 2008
    #7
  8. RFischer

    pappasbike

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    The clear flash tool worked temporarily for me but had to repeat it at least once a week. The 8.3 software update has ( fingers crossed ) completely fixed this on both my 920 and 930 devices. I'm quite happy about this, although I've read that some others have had problems with the update I've not had any.
    John
     
    pappasbike, Dec 8, 2008
    #8
  9. RFischer

    sageuvagony

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Tampa, FL USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    I had that exact problem, and like dhn said, I backed everything up just incase, I did a FULL format (not quick format) on both my SD card and internal memory. I then let home install EVERYTHING from scratch. I did NOT copy anything back from my backup back onto the device. The backup was just incase I screwed anything up. I haven't had a problem since.
     
    sageuvagony, Dec 9, 2008
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.