How to install POIs

Discussion in 'Attractions' started by CrewChief521, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. CrewChief521

    CrewChief521

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    TomTom Model(s):
    510 w/ iPod and RAZR Bluetooth
    How do you install POI's to TT? i have downloaded them in the map folder on the tt but cant get them into tthome. Please help!!:confused:
     
    CrewChief521, Feb 11, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. CrewChief521

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Don't use HOME. Once downloaded, just drag them over to your North America folder. Next time you boot up your TT, they'll be there. You may want to go to the menu "enable/disable POI" so your POI icons will show up on your map as you drive.

    Hope this helps!
     
    fanchee, Feb 11, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. CrewChief521

    CrewChief521

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    TomTom Model(s):
    510 w/ iPod and RAZR Bluetooth
    yea i see them now. thanks a bunch. think you could guide me on updating my sd card to a bigger one?
     
    CrewChief521, Feb 11, 2007
    #3
  4. CrewChief521

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Sure can, would be happy to help. Are you wanting to just transfer everything over to a larger card, or are you wanting to put the North America maps on a larger card?

    See here
     
    fanchee, Feb 11, 2007
    #4
  5. CrewChief521

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    27
    actually any POI you download, you can just unzip to your HOME\Downloads folder and then use HOME to install.
     
    battom, Feb 11, 2007
    #5
  6. CrewChief521

    ghoticov

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I am very new at this also.

    Are you saying that all I have to do is unzip the files (for instance, I d/l the Speed Trap, Red Light and Rest Area files) and then just drag those files using explorer into the USA and Canada folder and they should work?
     
    ghoticov, Apr 12, 2007
    #6
  7. CrewChief521

    amorek13

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    yes that will work make sure your bmp file is the same name as poi files since you getting zip from here you should be fine guys here do a great job
    you can just unzip it straight to na folder
     
    amorek13, Apr 12, 2007
    #7
  8. CrewChief521

    ghoticov

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a NA Folder, I have a USA_and_Canada Folder. But I see no other files like that in that folder.
     
    ghoticov, Apr 12, 2007
    #8
  9. CrewChief521

    amorek13

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    you dont have any becasue you never put in personal poi as far as i know that where you need to put them i am sure someone here with more experience will let you know sooner or later
     
    amorek13, Apr 12, 2007
    #9
  10. CrewChief521

    amorek13

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    there is a sticky here somewhere how to pois and everything is there explained
     
    amorek13, Apr 12, 2007
    #10
  11. CrewChief521

    ghoticov

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find that sticky!! Help!
     
    ghoticov, Apr 13, 2007
    #11
  12. CrewChief521

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Just unzip the contents of the file in your USA_and_Canada folder. The custom POI should show up.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 13, 2007
    #12
  13. CrewChief521

    ghoticov

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I unzipped them in the USA / Canada folder. I also went and clicked on "ADD POI CATAGORY" and named the catagory the same as the unzipped file (without the extension obivously). Did I even need to do that?

    Also, how can I see if those alerts and such are working? Do I just have to wait until I am near an intersection that has a red light and camera and just see if it warns me?
     
    ghoticov, Apr 13, 2007
    #13
  14. CrewChief521

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    No you don't. The custom POI is it's own category.

    You can choose a route with the POI alert along that route and run a demo. You should hear the alarm as you appraoch it.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 13, 2007
    #14
  15. CrewChief521

    ghoticov

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. When I just unzip the files into the USA folder, they never show up as POI's on the device but if I create a catagory and call it the same name as the files, they show up. Well, atleast I THINK they show up.

    I will have to wait until I go out tomorrow because my GPS reception in my house is no good (no bars).
     
    ghoticov, Apr 13, 2007
    #15
  16. CrewChief521

    amorek13

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
  17. CrewChief521

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    If you unzip for example the McDonald's POI you should get something like

    McDonalds.bmp
    McDonalds.ov2 <--- The name given to the .ov2 file is the category when slecting POI

    NOTE: in order for the picture to show beside the custom POI, it needs to match the .ov2 filename

    Follow the link amorek13 posted if you are still having trouble (Thanks)

    It doesn't matter about the reception. You should still be able to plot a course and run a demo. You can even hook it up to TT HOME and run a demo that way as well.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 13, 2007
    #17
  18. CrewChief521

    ghoticov

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whew, this can be a little confusing. LOL

    What is the .ogg file? When I just unzip the POI into my maps folder it doesn't seem to show on my device but when I create a catagory and call it the same name as the .ov2 file it creates a .ogg file and it seems to work.....I just have no idea why. ha!
     
    ghoticov, Apr 13, 2007
    #18
  19. CrewChief521

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    :confused:

    Are you downloading POI or POI Alerts?
     
    digital-flex, Apr 13, 2007
    #19
  20. CrewChief521

    ghoticov

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I think I have it figured out...

    The POI is the .ov2 file (and the corresponding .bmp file) and an ALERT is a .ogg file, right?

    I was thinking that you needed the .ov2 file AND the .ogg file in the Maps folder for a POI to show up. I guess you only need the .ogg file if you want an ALERT for that particular POI.

    Right?
     
    ghoticov, Apr 13, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.