Installing ALERTS or POIs?


Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
78
A very new TomTom 510 user here and have no clue how to install ALERTS or POI's. I did a search and I don't see a thread that explains how to do this.

I am using the USA_and_Canada Map right now (am looking to upgrade to the NA when I get a new SD Card).

Can someone help or lead me in the right direction on how to do this?

Thanks!

Marc
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
The 720 has TTS (text to speech). The best and easiest way is to go to your preference menu and select 'Manage POIs'
Select 'Warn when near a POI' then select 'Type your own warning' and write what you want it to say. I would unselect 'only when on route' but it is your preference.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
3
Thanks Guys. I understand howto via 'Manage POIs' however, you can't do it for Safety Warnings? This is what I really want to be able to do as we (Australians) like you guys have heaps of Speed?Red Light Cameras here. I need a voice spoken warning if I could.:)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
Ah! if you are using tomtom's safety warnings (Speed Cameras) then it does use an .ogg file and can not use a custom warning.
If you use a custom POI safety warning, then you can.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
29
Location
Toledo, OH
TomTom Model(s)
One 3rd Edition
Someone correct me if I'm wrong but I think the US_Canada folder is within the Maps folder on the TomTom? It is not directly in the main directory.

a123slonky, I have a TT1 v3 and I haven't tried installing custom POI's on it yet but I'm going to try later on tonight.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
102
TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
I have a 720 and installed the Alert in the location as the POI itself and it worked perfectly.

--Phil
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top