Downloading Maps

Hi,

Total newbie here, i recently bought a tomtom one Uk version, and want to use it in the USA. I registered on the website and installed the Tomtom home 2 software and then purchase the USA map to use when i go their next week. How do i know if this is being downloaded as it is suppose to be? I cant find the map anywhere in the Tomtom home 2 software. I have read all the help text but it seems like it automatically downloads it, but how do i know it is downloading it?

Thanks

Anthony

When you purchased the map, what step did you do then?

If you did download it (you would have known, I think, because it takes a while), you will find it here:

C:\Documents and Settings\yourname\My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Downloads\complete\maps\

If you don't see it there, I think what needs to be done is:
1. Make an Explorer, not Home, backup of your unit's contents. If not sure how, see here:
https://www.tomtomforums.com/genera...4-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer.html

2. Then move your existing map folder from the unit to the computer. Use Explorer. Once you are sure it's there, delete the folder from the unit using Explorer.

3. Connect the unit to Home and go to Add Maps. If you did download the US map, it should show it as residing on thre computer. Check to install.

4. If in step 3, it doesn't see a US map, try 'Update my Unit' and see if the US map is offered. If so, select it to install.

5. I'm not sure if your model has a sd card. Let's say it doesn't. Then, once the USA map is installed, you'll want to use Explorer and move the USA map to the computer unitil you need it. Use Explorer to restore the UK map you stored on the computer earlier.

6. When the time comes to go to the States, switch the USA map on the computer for the UK map on the unit.

When i purchase the map, it said that they would email the details too me. I have the email and all it says is that i need to login to TomTom Home and it would do it for me.