Device not recognised by Home

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by weblance, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. weblance

    weblance

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL, Go
    weblance, Jul 7, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. weblance

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You pressed the reset button on your unit?
     
    dhn, Jul 7, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. weblance

    weblance

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL, Go
    Yes tried that also.
     
    weblance, Jul 7, 2009
    #3
  4. weblance

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Does Windows Explorer recognize the connection when the unit is connected to the computer? If so, try unloading and reinstalling Home.
     
    dhn, Jul 7, 2009
    #4
  5. weblance

    weblance

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL, Go
    Uninstalling Home and reinstalling did the trick!

    Thank You very much!

    /Carl
     
    weblance, Jul 7, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.