Navigation device not recognised by computer

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Menippus, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    I have a Go Live 2050 World. While it works well, I have a terrible problem updating it, as I regularly have the greatest difficulty getting the computer to recognize the device, and the TomTom instructions about this are of no help whatever. Today, after trying everything that I can think of, I have failed completely to get the computer to address the device. I have My Drive Connect (in case there was a problem I deleted it and then re-loaded it); the device is plugged into a USB port. I am logged into the software, which helpfully tells me that the device is not connected. I get a sporadic message on the device that the battery is charging. But the computer does not recognize the device in any way. (I.e. it is not listed under 'devices' or, as far as I can see, anywhere else.) As far as I can see, TomTom offer no way in which I can communicate with them - so I'd be most grateful if anyone can tell me what to do.
     
    Menippus, Apr 16, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Menippus

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Apr 16, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Menippus

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,204
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Ah.. if the battery is depleted a bit so that we know it needs a charge, does wiggling the USB cable, especially around the unit itself, make the charging indicator come and go?
     
    canderson, Apr 16, 2016
    #3
  4. Menippus

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    Also, try a different USB cable / port if possible
     
    zengshengliu, Apr 16, 2016
    #4
  5. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    Thanks for the references, but:

    (a) I have been through the first before; nothing help, and the latter part of their information takes the device to be being recognized in some way by the computer, which, as far as I can see, it isn't
    (b) I could not see anything on the other list which related to my problem
    (c) I will try call support on Monday, but I have seen bad reports about it - which is why I thought that I'd try this list

    Menippus
     
    Menippus, Apr 17, 2016
    #5
  6. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    Thanks, but it has no effect. I have also changed over the USB port that I am using on the computer, and have re-booted the device: still the same problems remain
     
    Menippus, Apr 17, 2016
    #6
  7. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    Thanks. I have tried a different USB port. I can only use the existing - factory provided - cable because the connection on the bottom of the GO LIve 2050 is a distinctive one
     
    Menippus, Apr 17, 2016
    #7
  8. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    An update. I simply gave up on my main computer and used another one. There was no problem here at all... until I also purchased a map. At this point - and while my device was still connected from updating - I waited for instructions for how to download the map. These told me that I should download the TomTom home software - which I did, but which I have not been able to get to recognize my device, regardless of what I do! (I again went through all TomTom's recommendations, which - as before - did not apply, because they presumed that the device was in some sense being recognized by the computer when, as before, the navigation device is simply not showing up on the computer.) This was odd, because the navigation device itself told me that it was looking for updates. Any help would, again, be appreciated. I must say that when I next get a navigation device, it will not be a TomTom, and would recommend leads to any product which handles updates in a simple and straightforward manner, and which does not lead me to waste hours and hours of time on it! I have confronted time-wasting difficulties every time I have tried to update our TomToms - which is a real shame, as the product itself has been very good.
     
    Menippus, Apr 17, 2016
    #8
  9. Menippus

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,204
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    No, no, NO! Your 2050 World does not use TomTom HOME. HOME will not recognize your device, so in that sense, your results are correct. You must use MyDrive Connect. After doing so, your PC should see your device as though it were a network card (odd, but true .. your 2050 is a little mini-server of sorts).
    Fair to assume that at least at some time in the past, MyDrive was working OK with your 2050?
     
    canderson, Apr 17, 2016
    #9
  10. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    Canderson: Thanks: I gave up on TomTom Home (having got into it because I had received instructions to use it in the e-mail from TomTom). I went back to MyDrive Connect (on the second of the computers) and all was well - other than that I was not able to locate any record whatever of the map that I had purchased. (Trying to find it was interesting: I kept on having to log in and change pages to Australia: each time I moved to a new page it seemed to require the log-in and to have the country re-set again.) The maps displayed in my account for the US only located the initial one which came with 2050 MyWorld, while 'my orders' was empty, with no facility for entering the details of the new order, which the e-mail from TomTom had hold me to locate using TomTom Home. I have sent them an e-mail about this, and will try calling on Monday; but the entire experience, is, to say the least, a very negative one and if someone could suggest a device which handles the updating business easily, I'd be happy to buy it and then if it worked throw away TomTom!
     
    Menippus, Apr 17, 2016
    #10
  11. Menippus

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,204
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Any chance that the map was successfully downloaded to the original PC (but not transferred to the device)? Don't know what OS you have, but there's a cache of files that is retained there for anything downloaded. If you right click the MyDrive system tray icon on a Windows box, and select "Settings" and "Cache", you can see the folder where things will go. The files will all be 'response' and 'content' of one number or another, but you can look to see if any largish files have been left there with the 'content' name. If you spot something, let us know. The cache contents could be moved to the machine that seems to connect properly with your 2050 if need be.

    And .. just so that we're 100% on the right side of this, and because Home was suggested, there isn't a chance that you had a previous TomTom unit, an older one, that used the same email address as your 2050, is there?
     
    canderson, Apr 17, 2016
    #11
  12. Menippus

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Arno, Apr 17, 2016
    #12
  13. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    Thanks again, but:
    (a) I'm using windows 7, and can't make anything of your suggestions about were to look for downloads: when I right click on anything related to MyDrive, I don't get the options to which you refer
    (b) We had a previous TomTom, and the shop asked if it was to deliver the map to that. I said no, and ticked the 'other' option, but there was no opportunity to enter information specifically about the 2050. I will try contacting the TomTom Australian assistance. If I am able to reach them and they are able to offer a solution, I will post a record of the result.
     
    Menippus, Apr 18, 2016
    #13
  14. Menippus

    Menippus

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 2050 World
    I contacted TomTom support - who answered speedily! They identified that the problem was that while the map had been purchased, it had not been allocated by TomTom to our account. This was then done: problem solved.
     
    Menippus, Apr 18, 2016
    #14
  15. Menippus

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Glad it was sorted.
     
    dhn, Apr 18, 2016
    #15
  16. Menippus

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    To canderson's and everybody else chagrin, devices are tied in by TomTom to an eMail address, no matter if fake or true.
    Since you had not use a new eMail address your map purchase was allocated to your old device.

    canderson had asked for you to look at
    C:\Users\"enter your user name only here"\AppData\Local\TomTom\HOME3\cache

    The newest file with the name "contentXX¹" should be dated April 18².

    ¹ a 2 digit number. Increasing count for each new map since initialising the device.

    ² Your post shows Saturday evening EST but you would have installed it Sunday morning AEST.
     
    Arno, Apr 18, 2016
    #16
  17. Menippus

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,204
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Actually, using the MyDrive systray icon as described, the cache folder is identified there. That's easier to use since older systems do not employ the \Users\ folder.

    Yeah, I was afraid it might be an issue of an old email account. The fact that Home was being recommended was what made me suspicious that the OP had an older Nav2 unit account at one time, and had re-used it.
     
    canderson, Apr 18, 2016
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.