XL in Win 7 - device not recognised

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by tomyum, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    Hello,

    I have a TomTom XL and recently re-installed Windows 7 on my computer. However now when I attempt to update my GPS, it says 'USB device not recognised.'

    I have tried re-setting the GPS. I have also tried using a different cable to connect the GPS to the PC. I have also downloaded all of the latest windows updates.

    I haven't been able to find my model number yet...I think that I am going to have to pull the GPS apart to find it?!

    Any help is much appreciated. My specs are below.

    Operating System
    MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    Intel Pentium P6200 @ 2.13GHz 87 °C
    Arrandale 32nm Technology
    RAM
    2.00 GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 531MHz (7-7-7-20)
    Motherboard
    Hewlett-Packard 1668 (CPU) 81 °C
    Graphics
    Generic PnP Monitor ([email protected])
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Hard Drives
    313GB Western Digital WDC WD3200BEVT-60A23T0 (SATA) 48 °C
    Optical Drives
    hp CDDVDW TS-L633R
    Audio
    IDT High Definition Audio CODEC
     
    tomyum, Apr 16, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tomyum

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Apr 16, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    tomyum, Apr 16, 2012
    #3
  4. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    Ok I just looked at TomTom home on my desktop.

    When I clicked 'read the manual for my device' it says that the device is a XL 30.
     
    tomyum, Apr 16, 2012
    #4
  5. tomyum

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    A stupid question perhaps but does your invoice show the model type?

    Try resetting the unt by holding the power button about 10 seconds till you hear the drum sounds (unless your unit has a dedicated reset hole) and try connecting again.You should be using the cable that came with the unit. Also, connect to a usb port on the back, not the front, of the computer.
     
    dhn, Apr 16, 2012
    #5
  6. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    Well I bought the thing in 2008 and finding that invoice is going to be a headache. Is there another way?
     
    tomyum, Apr 16, 2012
    #6
  7. tomyum

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did you ever make a backup of the contents of the unit? If so, you'll see a text file called ttgo.bif that will show the model.
     
    dhn, Apr 16, 2012
    #7
  8. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    It's a TomTom XL 30
     
    tomyum, Apr 16, 2012
    #8
  9. tomyum

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did you try the suggestions I made in my earlier post?
     
    dhn, Apr 19, 2012
    #9
  10. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    Tried this but no luck unfortunately. And the only receipt I have is the credit card statement.
     
    tomyum, Jun 20, 2012
    #10
  11. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    I did - but unfortunately had to reinstall Win 7 so don't have access to it.
     
    tomyum, Jun 20, 2012
    #11
  12. tomyum

    tomyum

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl
    I did but no luck unfortunately.
     
    tomyum, Jun 20, 2012
    #12
  13. tomyum

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try running Home 2 in XP compatible mode. Also make sure you are using the cable that came with the device and are using a usb port on the back of the computer.

    Also, reset the unit. Either by holding the power button about 15 seconds till you hear the drum sounds unless your model has a dedicated reset hole on the bottom.
     
    dhn, Jun 20, 2012
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.