Adding a POI to a custom category

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by Nytewort, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Nytewort

    Nytewort

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got my new TTone...one thing i cant figure out is how to add a poi (mobil gas station) to a category called (Mobil Stations) , not the stock (Gas Stations). I download a poi called (Mobil) with an Mobil Icon, and what id like to do is have to POI pop up with a Mobil icon on the screen, but when i go to add the POI to the category , only the stock categorys are there and not the ones i downloaded....in a nutshell i want the mobil poi icon to show on screen, not the gas station one. any ideas?
     
    Nytewort, Nov 19, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Nytewort

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Yep.

    Move the mobil.ov2 to the specific map folder using Explorer. Also move the associated .bmp to the specific map folder. Ensure you name the .bmp EXACTLY the same as the .ov2.

    For example, if it's Mobil.ov2, then it MUST be Mobil.bmp, not mobil.bmp or MOBIL.bmp, etc.

    Finally, once you've moved them, Preferences-->Show poi on map, and make sure mobil is checked.

    That's it!!
     
    dhn, Nov 19, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Nytewort

    Nytewort

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded some POI's through TOMTOM Home.....they installed fine,and they show up in tt, these all have their own category, Burger King, Mobil ect......when i add a POI, none of these categorys show up..for some reason i cant add any POI's to anything but the default categories.
     
    Nytewort, Nov 19, 2008
    #3
  4. Nytewort

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Not in Preferences-->Manage POI's-->Add poi?
     
    dhn, Nov 19, 2008
    #4
  5. Nytewort

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    That should do it. You can save the personal category without any POI in it and just keep it for merging incidents.
     
    Arno, Nov 21, 2008
    #5
  6. Nytewort

    pianoCM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920
    AFAIK, you cannot add new POI into those POI Category, at least I don't know how :)
    What I would do is:
    + add a POI Category FIRST then
    + add new created POI into that POI Category
     
    pianoCM, Nov 23, 2008
    #6
  7. Nytewort

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Here is a way to merge built in poi's with custom ones. Go here.

    Also, to make a change or to add a poi to the built in poi's:
    Main menu of the unit-->second page-->Map corrections-->Correct a map error-->arrow right-->you'll see both an 'Add' and an 'Edit' poi icon. Select Add and you'll see all the categories listed. Scroll to the one you want and add the new poi to that category.

    If you select 'edit', you then select 'near you' or 'in city' or 'near home'. Say you select 'near you', you'll see a 'search' icon (more later) or specific categories you've used recently. There is also a right arrow to get you to the screen where all categories are listed. Scroll to the one you want and carry on.

    The 'search' icon ---say you want to correct a specific poi but you don't know the category. You know 'arena' is part of the name. Type it in and ALL pois in ALL categories with 'arena' as part of the name will get listed. Select the one you want and carry on.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2008
    dhn, Nov 23, 2008
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.