Accidently deleted maps! Now Map not found ?


Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
2
Hello,

Just got my new TomTom ONE. I accidently deleted the US maps on it. I don't have backup.

I tried to copy the maps from my friend but its show NO MAPS FOUND and it doesn't let me get my device id also.

How can I get the device id?

Appreciate any help!

Thanks!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
14
Location
Fife, Scotland
TomTom Model(s)
One XL
dont want to rub your nose in it but you should always have atleast 1 backup available, i always put each backup into a seperate folder with a text files saying what the update is, ie, new maps, or 3rd party software

am sure the good folks on here will be able to help you out :cool:
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
941
Location
Northern VA
TomTom Model(s)
ONE v2
Hello,

Just got my new TomTom ONE. I accidently deleted the US maps on it. I don't have backup.

I tried to copy the maps from my friend but its show NO MAPS FOUND and it doesn't let me get my device id also.

How can I get the device id?

Appreciate any help!

Thanks!
I had the same problem once, and I still had the maps saved on my computer. It wouldn't even let me reload the map from my computer to my ONE. You'll have to set aside some time, and call support. You might have to be on hold for a while, but they will fix it right away. It would be easier if you were logged onto HOME, and at your computer at the time as well. To get your device ID, tap the signal bar, then tap the square with the software version number in it. Good luck
 
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
2
I had the same problem once, and I still had the maps saved on my computer. It wouldn't even let me reload the map from my computer to my ONE. You'll have to set aside some time, and call support. You might have to be on hold for a while, but they will fix it right away. It would be easier if you were logged onto HOME, and at your computer at the time as well. To get your device ID, tap the signal bar, then tap the square with the software version number in it. Good luck

Hi,

I tried tapping it but the screen sort of locks at NO MAP FOUND and won't let me do anything.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
7
Location
United States
TomTom Model(s)
xl
the whole process of re-installing maps saved/backed up is weak. I can see my NA maps ZIP file and location, but the software does not provide a process to reload maps (that were removed to make space for alternative maps).

not sure what Tom Tom is waiting for to address this issue in their menu process...
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,374
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
For that model. Home's Add maps/voices-->arrow right to items on computer, you should see a row for maps. Expand that and you should see the map listed which you can select to install.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
7
Location
United States
TomTom Model(s)
xl
Map file(s) is/are there, but I assume it does not resolve as a usable file becuase it is a ZIP file. moved file to GPS, but sitll trying to figre out how to make the maps appear in the menu options...
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
4,683
Location
London, UK.
TomTom Model(s)
Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
Why assume? Why not try it with Home?

.... and putting the zip file on the device won't help.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top