Deleted map in error


Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go500
Thank you for letting me join this group. I have a model GO 5000 which came in a vehicle I bought just before lockdown. The device had preinstalled maps and all worked ok. Yesterday I tried to update the maps via My Drive Connect. I had a message pop up to say there was not enough memory space available on the device and to delete the original maps which I did. I started to download the updated maps (took about 2½ hours) then the download crashed! I now have no maps on my device is there anyway I can reset the system or reinstall my maps without having to buy new ones please? Any help or advice gratefully received. Thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
When you connect your device to the computer with MyDriveConnect running, go to the content tab of MDC. It should show a map available for downloading there.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go500
Thanks but I've already tried that and get a message saying I'm up to date and an advert to buy a new Tomtom with 30% off! Am I correct in assuming that my device has map update for life?
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Try chat assistance perhaps:

United Kingdom
02079 490 134
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,300
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Normally, it is impossible to delete the only map on a device. Do you have a 2nd map of any sort loaded?
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go500
Thanks for reply. I've finally sorted this out with help from the Tomtom support group moderator who has reloaded the maps back onto the cloud for me. Yesterday evening I downloaded the UK map onto my device and all is well again
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,300
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Glad to hear that you're back up and running. Can you describe a little more about how you got into this ditch? It was a very unusual situation.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go500
Hi again

Briefly I was trying to update my map of Europe and it was telling me there was not enough memory available on my device, and to delete map so that update could be downloaded. I deleted the existing map and started to download the update. All was going well so I left it to do it's own thing as it was saying download could be 2½ hours or more. When I checked the download after the prescribed time, I had an error message saying that my laptop had lost it's internet connection. I was then in the position of having no map on my device, and no map showing in "My Content"
I posted the problem on this website and also the Tomtom support website and that's where they tweaked my download to show the map of Europe but in smaller download sizes. As I live in the UK, I have only download that particular map at present. However, all the remaining European countries are now showing they are available for download if I need them. Hope that makes sense?
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,645
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
In post #5 canderson gave you a clue. Download a small map you probably will never use, like Egypt or Israel.
Now, should you loose your proper map, the device will not gag again.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,300
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Indeed, that's what I was considering - hoping he actually had, in fact.
It's always a good idea on these units, just in case.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go500
As previously stated all sorted now with help from a moderator on the tomtom support forum. He reinstated my maps onto the cloud and I now have all of Europe available. Have download the UK map and all works fine now. Thanks to all on this forum for their suggestions and help. Fingers crossed this post is now sorted!
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top