Accidentally Deleted Computer Voices

TomTom Model(s)
GT6282F03867
I am new to Tomtom and I was updating my device. It told me that I didn't have enough room and that I needed to remove some items. I *thought* I was keeping the checked off items, and then it was removing the ones that weren't checked. But apparently it was the opposite. Because now I have these French computer voices and when I go select the English ones (like Samantha and Tom) they are grayed out. It says to install from the CD or the website. But I don't have a CD and I can't find where to download them off the website!

I just want my computer voices back! Please help!

Had to look up your serial number to see what it was. Looks as though you own a Start 40.

First, have you ever done a backup of the unit, or ever updated the firmware? If "yes" to either of those, we'll get the voices back from where they're stored on your PC. If not, we'll still get them, but it will require getting a fresh load of firmware for your unit from TT after deleting what's there (DON'T try to do this without instructions!)

No. No backup. I'm pretty technically saavy. So please give me the instructions for firmware.

Ah, no big difference. 40/45, same process, same serial number prefix.

Step 1, back up what you DO have now! The best procedure for this can be found here: https://www.tomtomforums.com/t17864-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer-how-restore.html That will assure we have your maps backed up -- and that's always the critical bit. We can recover anything else from the TT server, but not the maps.

Step 2, delete all of the loose files (do NOT delete any folders!) from the root of your unit.

Step 3, using Home, properly do the USB disconnect of your unit.

Step 4, unplug and replug your unit and let Home discover it. It will at this time note that you need some new firmware (since you don't have any now!) and will offer to install it for you. The voices are part of the package.