720 questions

Im very new to TomTom, and confused by a few things with my 720. I only had my TomTom 7days before I had to send it back to them for repair, they just sent me a new one. I currently have the default version 7.221. Anyways...
1) Why do I have voice recognition? I thought it was suppose to be greyed out, and I had to do some things manually to activate it.

2) What is Navcore? I see people on this forum talking about it.

3) Is there any benefit in updating my TomTom to a newer version? My old one, I updated to the most recent, and the voice recognition was greyed out. I also didnt have the compass icon, which I have now.

Thanks

Im very new to TomTom, and confused by a few things with my 720. I only had my TomTom 7days before I had to send it back to them for repair, they just sent me a new one. I currently have the default version 7.221. Anyways...
1) Why do I have voice recognition? I thought it was suppose to be greyed out, and I had to do some things manually to activate it.

2) What is Navcore? I see people on this forum talking about it.

3) Is there any benefit in updating my TomTom to a newer version? My old one, I updated to the most recent, and the voice recognition was greyed out. I also didnt have the compass icon, which I have now.

Thanks

The new one you've been sent has Navcore 7.221 (that is the application or firmware version). It is over a year old BUT does have the compass functionality. It seems they also sent you a very old map (to see the firmware version, tap the satellite bars. The next screen shows the firmware and yours will say 7.221. NOW, tap the version number and the next screen shows the map and version number installed).

Newer 720 units that came with that firmware did have VR working 'out of the box'. It sounds as if you sent back a 720 with Navcore 8x installed which wiped out the version 7 compass functionality.