720 Newbie questions

Two questions about my new GO 720:

1. Can I use it to track maps other than those from TomTom, such as topo maps or aviation sectional maps. (I'm a pilot and have an aviation map program loaded in my laptop and am wondering if I can load these maps in my TomTom.

2. Or, can I use my TomTom as a peripheral screen for my laptop? The size of the TomTom unit would be ideal for mounting on the dash of my Cessna airplane and using it as an aviation GPS unit.

Two questions about my new GO 720:

1. Can I use it to track maps other than those from TomTom, such as topo maps or aviation sectional maps. (I'm a pilot and have an aviation map program loaded in my laptop and am wondering if I can load these maps in my TomTom.

2. Or, can I use my TomTom as a peripheral screen for my laptop? The size of the TomTom unit would be ideal for mounting on the dash of my Cessna airplane and using it as an aviation GPS unit.

Question#1;
The 3rd party software called "Offroad" will allow you to "overlay" BMP files and track your location. It has a feature that allows you to "unsnap" from the road lock that TT built into their maping software (otherwise it trys to put your location on the nearist road). I am a pilot too, and have been looking for a solution to the sectional map availability. Unfortunatly the only thing I have been able to work out is buying the sectionals in electronic format (there are a few companys out there that sell them) and then convert them to BMP format or just scan in the paper sectional. In either case a "calibration" has to be done by defining the upper left and lower right corners of each of the BMP files (Lat/Long).
I've loaded some of the US Forest service maps for my off road activites, but have yet to take on the F.A.A. sectionals as a project. However, I have loaded many of the V.O.R.T.A.C locations as a POI (works great!).

Last edited: