xxl 540 s and losing time

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by shadco, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. shadco

    shadco

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540S
    I'm a bit surprised that my xxl 540 s seems to lose about a minute and hour and that it doesn't sync time with the sats.

    anyone got any tips for accurate time with these?
     
    shadco, Feb 2, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. shadco

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    It should have a solid gps signal (or the 'sync' button doesn't even appear).

    Haven't heard about the time losing issue very much, if that all.......

    Are you by chance running on battery only?
     
    dhn, Feb 2, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. shadco

    shadco

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540S
    nope running on the charger.

    I used sync this am it was 6:00 AM EST and it picked up 1:30 AM.

    I'm not aware of anywhere that runs a half an hour off.

    I'll try again in the morning. GPS's on my boat, VDO, Raytheon, and Garmin have syncing proper time with no user intervention at all, once they picked up the sats they set the time properly
     
    shadco, Feb 2, 2010
    #3
  4. shadco

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    I have seen the thirty minute offset error on other devices from time to time (not release software though) can you adjest the time to the correct value for now rather than the sync button? - Mike
     
    mikealder, Feb 2, 2010
    #4
  5. shadco

    shadco

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540S
    yes that's what I did and then it started losing about a minute an hour.
     
    shadco, Feb 2, 2010
    #5
  6. shadco

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Can you try resetting the unit? (hold the power button for about 10 seconds or so). See if that helps.

    If not, try uninstalling and reinstalling the application.
     
    dhn, Feb 2, 2010
    #6
  7. shadco

    shadco

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540S
    So this morning it synced up with sat time just fine and has been accurate all day.

    Must have been a weird anomaly yesterday.
     
    shadco, Feb 2, 2010
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.