XL IQ Routes Sees Win7 Computer as a Power Supply - Not Connected

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by Marzipan, Mar 1, 2016.

  1. Marzipan

    Marzipan

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yukon Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL335
    When connecting the XL IQ Routes to a Windows 7 laptop, the device wants to navigate by asking for security PIN. There is no option to connect.

    Tried:
    1. Six USB cables (one might be the original TomTom one)
    2. All 4 USB ports
    3. Downloaded TomTom Home then opened it as administrator.
    4. Fully charged battery.
    5. TomTomHomeService is running as a service on the computer.
    6. Running in XP compatibility mode.

    There is no trace of the device on the computer - as a drive or in the device manager. Help!
     
    Marzipan, Mar 1, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Marzipan

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    May we assume that it was working on this PC before? If not, please advise.

    With the device connected, hold the power button for a full 20 seconds, or however long it takes for the logo to appear and for the drum sound to occur. Immediately release the button. Does this allow for a connection?
     
    canderson, Mar 1, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Marzipan

    Marzipan

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yukon Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL335
    Yes, resetting the device from the drum roll whilst it is cabled to the computer fires up TomTomHome and establishes the connection.

    Never read this solution anywhere in my research. Great!
     
    Marzipan, Mar 1, 2016
    #3
  4. Marzipan

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Glad it worked.
     
    canderson, Mar 1, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.