VIA 25 not loading routes

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by sammi, Feb 1, 2020.

  1. sammi

    sammi

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    via 25
    HI
    My via 25 freezes when trying to open a route in the car, any ideas ive updated, turned on and off and tried to sync to memory card (which has never worked), I cant even open the routes to delete ones I don't use, not sure if resetting will work or I will lose my routes, please help
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2020
    sammi, Feb 1, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sammi

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    We should establish where the routes came from first to see what might have caused this.
    Are these routes that you have built on the device by creating a route from a series of waypoints, or are these routes that were 'recorded' on the device as you drove, or are these routes that were sent to your device from TomTom's MyDrive web site?
     
    canderson, Feb 1, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sammi

    sammi

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    via 25
    These are routes I have recorded as I drove, it doesn't even enter the list just as soon as you touch the 'routes' icon it freezes then after a few mins goes back to the map
     
    sammi, Feb 1, 2020
    #3
  4. sammi

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Understood. There's clearly something about one of the files (likely not even the content - rather, the file directory information) that is clobbering your unit. That's not good. What you see is a nav app reboot when you try to access the list. Since there's no way to delete these from the unit's file system without a factory reset, I don't know that there's anything else you can do. If you have used the "Share Tracks" option in "My Routes" to copy your routes to the TomTom server previously, then they can be recovered. If you didn't make a backup in that way, I know of no way to recover them.
     
    canderson, Feb 1, 2020
    #4
  5. sammi

    sammi

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    via 25
    ok thanks ill try a system restore
     
    sammi, Feb 1, 2020
    #5
  6. sammi

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You don't need a system restore, just a 'factory reset' which is much simpler. Generally, that deletes the 'personal content'.
     
    canderson, Feb 1, 2020
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.