Weird route planning issue. Newbie really needs help!

Hi everybody. First post here, and I'm a complete newbie when it comes to GPS units. Be gentle. ;)

Ok, hopefully I can describe this well enough to be able to get some help. I have the TomTom ONE, 2nd Edition.

Over the weekend I attempted to navigate to:

3364 West 1st Street
Los Angeles, CA 90004

After entering "Los Angeles" I then attempted to enter "W 1st Street." It gave me several options, but the obvious one to select was "W 1st Street (Los Angeles)." I then entered "3364" and started driving.

For this route, the TomTom display read: "3364 W 1st St (Los Angeles), Los Angeles CA."

When I had reached the "destination" I was clearly in the wrong location. After spending some time trying to figure out where the hell I was, it turns out that I was at 3364 EAST 1st Street. I then double checked to make sure I typed in WEST, not EAST. I did, and the display even read WEST.

I then went into "Browse Map" and had it find that location. In the blue rectangle, it said WEST. However, the street name on the actual map (i.e., not in the blue rectangle) said EAST. So, at the map level, it knew that it was EAST. However, in all the display areas, it showed WEST.

After spending a lot of time with this, it turns out that I should have selected "3364 W 1st St (West Hollywood), Los Angeles CA." Had I select that entry, it would have navigated me to the correct location. However, not knowing where I was going, how on earth was I supposed to know I should select (West Hollywood) instead of (Los Angeles) when both entries were designated as being in Los Angeles?

Is there anything I could have done to avoid this? This seems like something the TomTom should have been able to recognize, because the actual map properly displayed EAST 1st Street.

Any advice on this? I'm now nervous that it's not going to route me to my desired destinations.

Thanks in advance.

Hello and welcome. let me try to research this.