TomTom 1005 - weird problem


Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
17
Location
UK
TomTom Model(s)
920,940,1005
Hi, I'd appreciate any guidance on this please - just started happening:

The unit accepts the destination when entered, and moves to show the route summary - but when it should start, it seems to freeze - with the location signal staying stationary and the speed indicator showing 0mph.

It is not the whole unit that's frozen, though - you can re-enter another destination (or re-enter the one just programmed) and all appears OK up to the route summary, then repeats as above.

Many thanks
Rob
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,313
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,691
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
If you don't have a destination planned, does the chevron move along your regular path, with normal speeds shown? Or does this only happen with a route planned?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
17
Location
UK
TomTom Model(s)
920,940,1005
Thanks. I'll feedback...
I tried the reset as suggested and used the device last night (its my wife's) and - good news - it worked fine. Hopefully, that's it.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
17
Location
UK
TomTom Model(s)
920,940,1005
If you don't have a destination planned, does the chevron move along your regular path, with normal speeds shown? Or does this only happen with a route planned?
Let me check, thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,691
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
Moot now since it's behaving properly with route planned (good!). But thanks anyway.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top