Via 1535TM won't properly read ov2's from POI-factory.com??


Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
5
When I download and install ov2 files from POI-factory.com my Via 1535TM lists them with the native POI files, but when I click on them it says "No poi's"...

I'm on a Mac if that matters....

Anyone know why these files aren't working on my 1535?

When I download ov2's from the forums here on tomtomforums.com it works fine... unfortunately many of the POI lists here that I've found are from years ago, not current at all....
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,333
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
If the 3rd party POI can be opened and re-saved with POIEdit, that might be a solution. POIEdit *.ov2 files seem to play properly with 10.X devices.

Get it here => http://www.poiedit.com/
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
5
If the 3rd party POI can be opened and re-saved with POIEdit, that might be a solution. POIEdit *.ov2 files seem to play properly with 10.X devices.

Get it here => PoiEdit - Main
Thanks, I wish I could use this but our house is 100% mac. Can't seem to find any poi editing software for mac yet.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
5
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
5
Success!

I found a workaround...

For anyone who finds this thread via search, here's the deal:

The TomTom Via 1535TM won't successfully read POI lists downloaded from POI-factory.com even when you download them in the indicated .ov2 format from the site.

But if you go to the converter linked below you can convert them. Just select "Tom Tom POI file(.ov2)" as the input AND the output, then upload the non-working ov2 list and convert it.

The ov2 file that the converter spits out DOES work with the 1535, yay!

GPS Visualizer: Web interface to GPSBabel

Happy days, now I'll always be able to find a campground, a coffee place and a walmart... everything else is just details :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
I've had some discussions with Tomtom developers on this issue.

There is a "bounding box" in the poi files that contain latitude/longitude of where the POIs are. For some reason many files on poi-factory have the latitude/longitude incorrectly swapped in this bounding box. The individual POIs themselves have the proper latitude/longitude.

App 9.x devices have unlimited custom POI search range, so they see the incorrect bounding box, don't care if the box says POIs are so far away, and search for the individual POIs.

App 10.x devices have a 25 mile search radius, so once they see that the poi-factory bounding box is (incorrectly) more than 25 miles away, they don't search the contents.

You are correct, that a converter that properly sets the bounding box will resolve the problem.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top