Urban Rider Charging Mount Query

TomTom Model(s)
Urban Rider
Hi guys,

I'm completely new to TT and sat nav in general. I've got an Urban Rider Europe and I am likely to be doing some long tours on the bike this summer.

I imagine that getting a charging mount and wiring this to the bike is the way to go so as not to run out of juice on the road.

I use the bike for commuting and wont be using TT most days. If I wire the mount direct to the battery, and remove the GPS when I'm not on the bike - does the mount run down the battery when no unit is connected to it?

I've seen some comments on here re wiring the + to the tail light and/or using a relay - but does this only apply if the GPS is constantly left in place on the mount?

Answers to the above would be really appreciated as woudl any other general advice on other solutions.

Many thanks.

Welcome to TTF.

One of our 'biker' gurus will likely respond to your query so check back...........

The mount itself draws no power. I rarely even remove my Rider2 from the mount. I once left my Rider turned on for 2 days (forgot to turn it off) and it didnt affect the starting of my bike.

Cheers

Thanks guys.

I'm based in the UK, but sure such things are obtainable.

So basically: I can wire the mount direct to the battery (with an inline fuse on the positive wire) and this won't draw any power unless my unit is actually on the mount?

If that's the case - sounds pretty easy.

Have you guys found the charging mount is pretty durable? Someone told me theirs broke.

Thanks again for your advice.

I've got the mount on a RAM "ball" with a 3 inch arm. This allows it to shake a bit so it absorbs some of the shock of the road/bike. I've had it mounted this way for 2 years and all is still well. The RAM ball is mounted to a mount that appears to be made for a radar detector to mount flat on.