touchscreen unresponsive

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by patrick schreiber, May 28, 2016.

  1. patrick schreiber

    patrick schreiber

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    cannot get past "I Agree" My GO 630 seems frozen. Re-set does not resolve the problem. Have error code 2152398878 on computer. Any resolution ?
     
    patrick schreiber, May 28, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. patrick schreiber

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,958
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Frozen only when attempting to connect to PC, or frozen when using standalone?

    The error code you note is coming from Home. I assume the full context is
    ERROR: 2152398878/#https://home.tomtom.com/redir/services: Error from server: HOME cannot connect to the TomTom server. HOME cannot connect to the TomTom server.

    These should not be related situations and need to be dealt with separately.

    When your device is connected to your PC, and ignoring Home for a moment, can you see the contents of your 630 using the operating system? (Don't know if you're on some version of Windows or Mac, so it's either Explorer or Finder). Your device should look like a thumb drive or similar external drive.
     
    canderson, May 28, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. patrick schreiber

    patrick schreiber

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    Thanks for the prompt reply. My Operating system is windows 10. When the Go. screen asks "Connect to computer" tapping on "yes" brings no response what so ever. .When I plan a route, (on the computer) with device connected -HOME 2 -"plan a route", and then disconnect the device and place it in my car, it will talk me through the planned route, but the screen will remain locked on "I agree"
     
    patrick schreiber, May 28, 2016
    #3
  4. patrick schreiber

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,958
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    OK - so we're toast in both modes. Does Win10 see the device and its contents? Just good to know.
    FWIW, we've seen some touchscreen problems with 630 models, but that usually leads to the opposite problem -- phantom presses when you're not even touching the screen.

    Let's start with the basic 'hard reset'. In the bottom of the unit, there's a small hole. Gently, with the end of a paperclip or similar object, press and hold the button inside that hole for about 5 seconds.
     
    canderson, May 28, 2016
    #4
  5. patrick schreiber

    patrick schreiber

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    Once again, thanks for the prompt reply. When I bring-up TT Home on computer , computer screen shows "device not connected" (Although device is connected into a Port). On the device I'm asked " Do you want to connect to computer?" Tapping "yes" (or anywhere else on the device screen) brings no response. Computer continues to show "No device connected" 1) I then press the Reset (underneath the device). The device switches off. 2) I then power up (switch-on) the device. 3) Computer screen shows " a photo card has been inserted" 4)" Quit" that, and the computer screen shows the TT legal notice. 5) Tap, and "Agree" (on the computer) . The TT screen, on the computer, shows current location (home). I can operate my device from the computer, as I would normally do if it was functioning correctly. The device screen continually shows the TT docked. Every time I operate the TT (on the computer), the device screen shows me the hour-glass to wait, and not to un-dock. If I now disconnect the device from the computer (Device disconnect), the device screen goes back to "do you want to connect to computer". Tapping again brings no response. When the cable connection to the computer is removed, the device screen returns to the Legal notice, and shows the correct time. I have tried re-setting the TT via the re-set button many times (hold it for 5 sec., then 30 sec, etc.,- to no avail. I've tried to see if a temperature change would make a difference to the operation. I have cooled the TT ( to 5C) 41F- and warmed to ( 28C ) 83F. None of this makes any change to the operation (touch screen). Prior to this , my GO 630 had been stored, unused for about 9 months.(in a dry place). Up until storage, it had worked perfectly. The battery seems fine, and holds it's charge, or so it seems, as the screen never goes "dead". I once got it to move on from "I agree" but never again. As I've said, it will talk me through a route planned on the computer (TT Home- operate my device), but the device screen remains locked on the legal notice. Sadly, have to admit to suspecting a touch-screen problem. My TT hasn't been used all that much, although a few years old.
     
    patrick schreiber, May 29, 2016
    #5
  6. patrick schreiber

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,958
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    One more try.

    With the device connected by cable to the PC, and with the device turned on, once again press the reset button. THIS method bypasses the "Do you want to connect..." question altogether and simply makes the connection.

    Home will come up, but we don't want to deal with Home right now. Just minimize (don't close) it. Now, use Windows to have a peek around at the content of the device. This should be possible.
    Assuming you CAN see the 'innards', I need you to navigate to your North America map folder. Within that folder, you should find a file called mapsettings.cfg. Make a copy of that file somewhere on your PC, then delete it from the device.

    Bring Home back to the fore and using either of the methods it provides (I use the little arrow in the lower right corner), perform a proper logical disconnect of your 630. Once that disconnect is acknowledged, physically disconnect the cable at the 630.
    Once again press the reset button on the bottom of the unit.

    Where are after all that?
     
    canderson, May 29, 2016
    #6
  7. patrick schreiber

    patrick schreiber

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 630
    Once again, thanks for the reply. Will my geographical location affect which map folder to use ? I live in Port Alfred, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Regards.
     
    patrick schreiber, Jun 1, 2016
    #7
  8. patrick schreiber

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,958
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yes, sorry for not noticing your 'flag' and suggesting to look for a N.A. map folder!
    You will have a map folder with a different name in S.A. It's not the one called 'map', either, it's one that is indicative of the region that the map covers. Find that mapsettings.cfg file there.
     
    canderson, Jun 1, 2016
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.