TomTom Start Europe, display POI on map?

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by Rover45, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. Rover45

    Rover45

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All

    New poster but I have lurked many times and found the info invaluable.

    To replace the TomTom One UK which was stolen, I purchased a Start Europe because basically, I was lost without it.

    Now to my horror, this one doesn't seem to allow you to display POIs on the map or have a facilty to warn you when you are near one.

    Please tell me this is just something I've missed or I have to sell my lovely new Start with its cool mounting bracket thing and go back to a One ;)

    Thanks if you can help
     
    Rover45, Aug 31, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Rover45

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You've missed nothing, sadly.

    All models with EasyMenu (which includes all models with a small 2 in the name) and the Start's have this menu and consequently significantly less user control.
     
    dhn, Aug 31, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Rover45

    vlbaindoor

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 940 Live
    Hi there,

    Surprised to note that as someone who lurked many times on this forum (as you are saying there), not much research was done apparently before buying a new device.

    Or was it a case of - "Got lost and found yourself in the neighbourhood of a shop that sells Sat Navs and had to buy something to get you back on known track" ?
     
    vlbaindoor, Aug 31, 2010
    #3
  4. Rover45

    astan

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    go920, xl340tm, xl350tm
    Try Browse map

    I have the xl350 with the easy menu. TomTom just updated a new navcore. If I choose "Browse map" then "Choose POIs" I can select POI's to be displayed on the map. There is a limit to how many different types that can be displayed but I don't know it.

    The new options menu page 2 gives you "Manage POIs". You can select "Warn when near POI"

    You will need to connect to TomTom Home and update your Application (Navcore). Be sure to back up your Start to a folder on your computer before you update.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2010
    astan, Sep 5, 2010
    #4
  5. Rover45

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I just posted a sticky, it appears the 9.150 upgrade is a brand new one, that returned many of the features previously lost on EasyMenu devices.
     
    mvl, Sep 5, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.