TomTom company’s life


Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
90
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
Hi everyone
I have the go 620 WiFi that as you all probably know it no longer gathers traffic information from Bluetooth and there app. I wasn’t really worried about this problem just because I was assuming Tomtom was going to make it right. So I checked there website forums to try and find out if this problem was wide spread or what. But I’m seeing posts that TomTom is going to drop there PND because there’s no need for them anymore because of cell phones. Can anyone verify this rumor
Thank You
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,692
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
I would be very surprised if that is a rumour spread by the company.

Do you have the MyDrive app installed on your cell phone and do you have Bluetooth activated and paired.
When you are in WiFi range and paired, it takes over and you will have live traffic.
When out of range traffic comes from you data plan of your Bluetooth paired cell phone.
If you updated MDA you must delete the 620 on your cell phone and start pairing with the QR code over again as if it were the very first set up.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
90
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
I would be very surprised if that is a rumour spread by the company.

Do you have the MyDrive app installed on your cell phone and do you have Bluetooth activated and paired.
When you are in WiFi range and paired, it takes over and you will have live traffic.
When out of range traffic comes from you data plan of your Bluetooth paired cell phone.
If you updated MDA you must delete the 620 on your cell phone and start pairing with the QR code over again as if it were the very first set up.
Thank you for the fast response. I will try the your instructions and post my results
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,358
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Bigger question -- are you using an iPhone running iOS 13.x.x?
THAT is a headache for a lot of companies trying to connect to iPhones for Bluetooth data. Something ugly happened during the 'upgrade' from 12 to 13.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
90
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
Bigger question -- are you using an iPhone running iOS 13.x.x?
THAT is a headache for a lot of companies trying to connect to iPhones for Bluetooth data. Something ugly happened during the 'upgrade' from 12 to 13.
Yes I am and I believe that’s where my problem lies. But the big question is. This problem has been around sense October 2019. I really don’t want to give up on TomTom but I’m losing my faith on there abilities to work this out with Apple or fix the problem
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,358
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Beta now has 13.4.1 out. Let's see whether THAT improves anything. Apple has had several mods to BT in recent releases, but so far, it hasn't helped any of the companies that have been dealing with this since 12x to 13x transition happened.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top