SIM Cars


Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
On what device? And do you mean the sdhc card in the device? If so, just look at the contents using Explorer (or Finder if a Mac). The card appears as an external drive.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
@Weecosse
I assume you don't mean SIM card, since neither of the units you specify are "Live" units with a SIM card, but rather, the SD memory card (if installed) on your 920.

If you have the 920, when you plug it into your PC, you'll see two new external drives appear. One is the internal memory of your device. The other is your SD card.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
51
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
TomTom Model(s)
GO920T, XXL 540TM.
On what device? And do you mean the sdhc card in the device? If so, just look at the contents using Explorer (or Finder if a Mac). The card appears as an external drive.
DHN, it is and sdhc card. It is on a on a GO920. Can you tell me how to do use Explorer (on a Windows PC) to view the files?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
When you connect your device via its USB cable, your TomTom appears as one (or two, if you have the SDHC card installed) external drives on your PC, just as if you had - for example - inserted a thumb drive / USB stick into the USB port.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
51
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
TomTom Model(s)
GO920T, XXL 540TM.
When you connect your device via its USB cable, your TomTom appears as one (or two, if you have the SDHC card installed) external drives on your PC, just as if you had - for example - inserted a thumb drive / USB stick into the USB port.
The only thing that I can see is a folder on my Device called SIMCARD. The only thing in the folder is a file called mobility.sim.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
OK. I may be out in left field here, but WHAT are you connecting to your computer? A TomTom nav device, or something ELSE?

If you are connecting your 920, you should see it separately as a disk drive, and assuming you have a properly formatted SDHC card installed, you should see that separately as a disk drive.

Was the SDHC card being used for something else previously?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
51
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
TomTom Model(s)
GO920T, XXL 540TM.
OK. I may be out in left field here, but WHAT are you connecting to your computer? A TomTom nav device, or something ELSE?

If you are connecting your 920, you should see it separately as a disk drive, and assuming you have a properly formatted SDHC card installed, you should see that separately as a disk drive.

Was the SDHC card being used for something else previously?
I was able to read the card which was showing a DSCIM folder containing photos from my camera. I have deleted the files on it I'll just get a new card and use that.

Thanks for your help!
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Wow - I'm glad we got that figured out! For your 920, assuming it has current code, a 4GB Class 6 card is sufficient to handle any North America map with plenty of room to spare.
If you plan to have Europe as well (a feature of your 920), and since there's a pinch for space as the maps get bigger, you can keep your North America map in internal memory and your European map on the card, or v. versa.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top