Runner Cardio quits recording mid-run

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by hale1114, Oct 30, 2016.

  1. hale1114

    hale1114

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Runner Cardio
    Often when I'm out running, my Runner cardio will quit tracking. I'll look down and it will return to the home screen. Then I have to restart it. When I get home and connect it to my computer, instead of one 9 mile run, there's four shorter runs.

    Also, how can I customize the screen to show me the stats I want to see. I don't care how many calories I burn. I want to see my HR and pace.

    I got the Tomtom for the HR monitor and it's accurate for that. Problem is the unit acts like it's smarter than me. I just want the thing to tell me the information I want it to and nothing more.
     
    hale1114, Oct 30, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hale1114

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You should call support Monday for your issues:

    United States
    866 486 6866
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EST
    Saturday: 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m EST
     
    dhn, Oct 30, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. hale1114

    hale1114

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Runner Cardio
    It's been staying on, now that I posted something. I think it was losing GPS signal, since I'm in a relatively rural area. Another issue plaguing this is: When I'm ready to run it says "Please Wait" and takes forever before it says "Go." That's a PITA when I'm doing a 5k and the race starts. Is there a way to just tell it to start?
     
    hale1114, Nov 1, 2016
    #3
  4. hale1114

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,026
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Nov 1, 2016
    #4
  5. hale1114

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,917
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Rural areas won't bother a GPS signal, unless 'rural' includes a lot of heavy tree cover. You'd be worse off in any skyscraper jungle of a metro downtown area when it comes to getting a decent GPS fix.

    Now the fact that it's taking a long time (can you say how long, roughly?) in the "Please wait" mode DOES indicate that it is taking a longer time than normal to get a GPS fix (that's why it's delaying you). All 3 of my TomTom watch units bring up a signal within 15 seconds worst case, even indoors. Can you describe your typical terrain/topography when starting your run?
    If it's nothing unusual that would prevent a quick lock, then I'd be concerned about that particular unit. Still under warranty?
     
    canderson, Nov 1, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.