Route planning with multiple stops

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Chriscool, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. Chriscool

    Chriscool

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are a company which do a lot of maintanance work at our clients, and in many different districts. We wish to implement permanent routs to the GPS. The driver can turn on the GPS, choose between different pre defined routes, and let the GPS do the rest of the job. We have many drivers, with their own GPS, and the client list is updated often. Therefore these routs has to be updated externally. E.g. TomTom has the SD card, where the routs can be installed...posible? Any other options? Smart phone solutions?
     
    Chriscool, Aug 15, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Chriscool

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,729
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Only previous TomTom models actually supported itinerary planning, and work-around methods for newer models won't allow for installing directly to an SD or uSD card.

    Ideally, you're looking for what we call the older 'Nav2' models. IF you can still locate the XL540, that unit will easily accomplish what you ask, and it's a solid performer. We still see them new for sale now and again.
     
    canderson, Aug 15, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Chriscool

    Chriscool

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx. No possibilities with TomTom on Smart phone?
     
    Chriscool, Aug 15, 2013
    #3
  4. Chriscool

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,729
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Nope. They haven't supported itinerary planning of that sort on their Android or Apple units, either.

    You can still pick up the 540S for about $90, or the 540TM (lifetime map updates and RDS traffic receiver included) for $140 on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&page=1&rh=i:aps,k:tomtom 540

    This will accept MANY itinerary files of as many as 48 points each. However, it's not possible to update them on SD or uSD cards. The last unit that would do that as well was the GO 740 unit. Also a heck of a unit (one of my favorites for a number of reasons) and available for $140. It's possible to enable "Live" traffic on these as well (1 year free subscription with unit) which is quite good at predicting traffic issues (better than the RDS method). I'm surprised that they're still available http://www.amazon.com/TomTom-4-3-Inch-Widescreen-Connected-Navigator/dp/B001P3O764/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376576255&sr=8-1&keywords=tomtom 740
     
    canderson, Aug 15, 2013
    #4
  5. Chriscool

    Chriscool

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told to try TOMTOM HOME combined with TOMTOM ROUT PLANNER. This is supposed to work. The routs can be sent to the devices.
     
    Chriscool, Aug 16, 2013
    #5
  6. Chriscool

    Chriscool

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Chriscool

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,729
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    TomTom Home only works with the older models, and the route planner won't build a true itinerary. It's really designed for the sort of one shot A to B routing as you'd also see at Google or Bing.

    If you can turn up some of the older 740 units, these do use Home, and there are some good tools for developing itineraries for them.
     
    canderson, Aug 16, 2013
    #7
  8. Chriscool

    Chriscool

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    This program may very well solv the problem! :) http://www.tyretotravel.com/

    The program is compatible with TomTom and Garmin. PERFECT!
    Thanx for answers
     
    Chriscool, Aug 16, 2013
    #8
  9. Chriscool

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    In spite of the news on their web page, TYRE seems to work properly only with HOME devices.
    See this post.

    The GO 740 seems to be your best bet from TomTom.
     
    Arno, Aug 16, 2013
    #9
  10. Chriscool

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Yup, Tyre creates an itinerary file just like any number of other solutions, but we have to emphasise again that only OLD TomTom models (such as those suggested above) can use the files.
    TomTom in their MADNESS, have removed the feature on all of their more recent models.
     
    Andy_P, Aug 26, 2013
    #10
  11. Chriscool

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Contact business solutions at the phone number on business.tomtom.com

    They have sophisticated fleet management tools, that allow you to prioritize and dispatch routes and destinations to Tomtom's in your fleet from a centrally managed website. I haven't seen it myself but I'm sure a sales rep would be happy to walk you through the capabilities.
     
    mvl, Aug 31, 2013
    #11
  12. Chriscool

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    $$$$?
    Anyone got any idea how much a Business contract with TomTom can cost?
     
    Andy_P, Sep 2, 2013
    #12
  13. Chriscool

    Sandy Dropper

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO2535TM
    I’ve been using an app called Badger Maps for the past few weeks and have been really liking it. It lets me make my routes on my computer or iphone, optimizes the route to be in the most efficient order, and then I just export my routes to the SD card to put into my TomTom for the directions. It’s saved me loads of time and wasn’t too hard for a geezer like me to learn Ha Ha
     
    Sandy Dropper, Jul 18, 2017
    #13
  14. Chriscool

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,729
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Looks like Badger Maps runs $9/month or $99/yr for individuals. It would be interesting to see what flavor of route file it is generating for your SD card use.
     
    canderson, Jul 19, 2017
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.