Go 5100 planning route to use main roads

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by JDA, Nov 12, 2015.

  1. JDA

    JDA

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO5100
    I have selected 'fastest route', however this takes me down minor B roads that are not actually the fastest because I often cannot drive safely at the maximum speeds (due to bends, narrowness etc). These routes are often not the most 'relaxing' routes to drive either, especially in the dark. Is there any way I can select to not use B roads/ only use A roads and above? One of my old TomTom's allowed a sliding scale of road preference, this appeared to have been removed on later models.

    Thank you
     
    JDA, Nov 12, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. JDA

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I am afraid the only options at Menu >> Settings (gear wheel) >> Route Planning are
    Fastest route
    Shortest route
    Most eco-friendly route
    Avoid Motorways
    Walking route
    Bicycle route

    If you know the route, you could experiment with making waypoints to keep you on A roads.
     
    Arno, Nov 12, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. JDA

    JDA

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO5100
    Thanks.
    Might try most eco-friendly route and see what that gets me. I'm concerned that once the weather starts to get bad it will have me going up country lanes. It certainly works out different routes to my previous TomTom, even though the old one has traffic and updated maps so they should be working with the same data.
     
    JDA, Nov 13, 2015
    #3
  4. JDA

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,882
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Normally, 'country lanes' don't have recorded speed data that is nearly as fast as larger roads -- unless the larger roads are infamous for traffic pile ups that keep their average speeds even lower.

    Some of us have just been discussing 'snow routing' elsewhere and what kind of logic might be best to make that work given where Live traffic data is monitored and where it's not. Sometimes it's better to be in really slow traffic on a plowed road than it is to be stuck in the snow somewhere that's only a good alternative when it's not piled deep.
     
    canderson, Nov 13, 2015
    #4
  5. JDA

    Nippa

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    5100
    I've just returned to a TomTom 5100 after many years with Garmin kit and I'm also disappointed at the ignorant routings in the UK leading through minor C Roads at unexpected times.
    As there are no meaningful options in the menu set up , it would appear that TomTom mapping does not contain as much road data as their competitors ( in this regard my Snooper Sat nav is king ).
    I guess that we're stuck.
     
    Nippa, Nov 23, 2015
    #5
  6. JDA

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,000
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did you select 'fastest' for routing?
     
    dhn, Nov 23, 2015
    #6
  7. JDA

    Nippa

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    5100
    I've tried all modes but normally fastest and the identical eco friendly modes.
    Tomtom cannot recognise that a road barely wide enough for two cars does not provide a faster connection than two A class roads.
    Utter madness...I don't remember such problems with my original TomTom Go 500
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2015
    Nippa, Nov 24, 2015
    #7
  8. JDA

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,000
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Do you have the current (960) map?
     
    dhn, Nov 24, 2015
    #8
  9. JDA

    Nippa

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    5100
    Completely up to date and yet speed limit data is at least a year out of date for my local area which convinces me that official road data for the UK falls below that of the competition.
    It will be interesting to see how well it works in the US and France next time I'm there.
     
    Nippa, Nov 24, 2015
    #9
  10. JDA

    JDA

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO5100
    I'm in complete agreement with the last 2 messages from Nippa. Utter madness. I bought this latest one because my previous one was having problems with the traffic live and since I had had it for a few years I thought a new one would be an improvement..... bad move. I was told to replace the battery, which I had done at a local shop and bingo! it works fine. I was advised to keep the battery topped up by charging in the house - this I have done and I have now reverted to the old one and the new one is sat on the table unused.
    Do the people that 'design' these actually drive?? To me it seems they are just justifying their jobs by making changes! I also take issue with the statement 'intuitive ' to use... I don't have a smart phone so someone had to tell me to swipe the screen to get more options. I know I'm a dinosaur but there you go!
     
    JDA, Nov 24, 2015
    #10
  11. JDA

    Nippa

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    5100
    Over the last few years I've used SatNavs ( mainly Garmin ) all over the world. I bought the TomTom from Amazon for its lifetime US coverage.
    In cities and US Interstates my SatNavs have proved their value especially for lane changing advice so I'm quite familiar with gps foibles and I remember days past trying to drive around Houston without guidance.

    This TomTom 5100's methodology using a simplistic map ( perhaps ) is scaring me.
    If the only/main parameter in calculating journey time is the speed limit of a road then TomTom would give equal priority to narrow C roads - this is what it appears to do in the UK.
    My guess is that until some of the trucking data is incorporated into our UK Mapping giving priority to main roads it cannot make routing decisions for us.
     
    Nippa, Nov 24, 2015
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.