Retail Stores POI collection now on TT site

Discussion in 'TomTom News & Announcements' started by fanchee, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. fanchee

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Take a look at this:

    http://www.tomtom.com/plus/service.php?ID=2&BID=33

    I haven't seen it before, so I'm thinking it's fairly new. These POI files can mostly be obtained from either here or another forum, but I like that TT is listening to what we want! :)

    Some people will like that this only counts as one POI category, while others will want to keep "Best Buy" as it's own category. To each their own!
     
    fanchee, Jan 25, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. fanchee

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    very cool!

    solves the "Shops" Category for ONE users!

    Thanks TomTom! (Now.. if only my DVD would arrive).
     
    Nextourer, Jan 25, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. fanchee

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    lol.. just did a quick search. I can already tell you it's not exactly complete. Oh well, it's good first effort!

    There's this Staples next to a Futureshop which isn't listed. There's 2 Costcos near me (within 10km) but the 'nearest' one in the list is 16.1km away.
     
    Nextourer, Jan 25, 2007
    #3
  4. fanchee

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    I haven't even installed it yet, but I'm not shocked to hear it's incomplete. I agree, though, it's a GREAT start!
     
    fanchee, Jan 26, 2007
    #4
  5. fanchee

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Well, one of the Costcos is new (last summer). But the other close one is over 10 years old!!

    Oh well, can't have them all lol. But then again, they have a restaurant listed and it opened last summer! I wonder who sends TeleAtlas the information when something opens.
     
    Nextourer, Jan 26, 2007
    #5
  6. fanchee

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Great find
     
    Pedro2NR, Jan 26, 2007
    #6
  7. fanchee

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    You are STILL waiting for your maps DVD???? :eek:
    Maybe yet another ROAD TRIP to this side of the border and a stop at a TomTom retailer to pick one up with some sort of voucher will get it to you quicker.... jeesh!


    ......heh? :)
     
    battom, Jan 26, 2007
    #7
  8. fanchee

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Nextourer, I feel bad about this! Try emailing them like crazy and keep calling everyday.
     
    Pedro2NR, Jan 26, 2007
    #8
  9. fanchee

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I should because when I reiterated my concern, they told me "yeah sure, we'll check for you and see if it's in transit. Just give us your name and address and phone"

    So I did, only to find out it'll take 3-4 weeks for them to check!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    Nextourer, Jan 26, 2007
    #9
  10. fanchee

    servoisgod

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lewisville, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 910
    I just tried to download and the file is not opening. Says it's an invalid format and even changing the extention to different types (zip, rar, exe..) still nothing.

    file size = 228KB, but there isn't anything there :)

    Later,
    Aaron
     
    servoisgod, Jan 31, 2007
    #10
  11. fanchee

    (COP)Sli

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cambridge Ont. Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    TOMTOM ONE
    I got the same message :(
     
    (COP)Sli, Jan 31, 2007
    #11
  12. fanchee

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Hmmmm. I have the file in zip format and it's 232kb.
     
    fanchee, Jan 31, 2007
    #12
  13. fanchee

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    err.. that's weird.

    It's 400KB (unzipped I guess). I wonder if they're updating it after I said it was incomplete (esp. that 10-year old Costco location)
     
    Nextourer, Feb 1, 2007
    #13
  14. fanchee

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Aren't we being optimistic.... :) :) :)
     
    fanchee, Feb 1, 2007
    #14
  15. fanchee

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    right. I retract my statement lol.
     
    Nextourer, Feb 1, 2007
    #15
  16. fanchee

    arcfjss

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    After repeated unsuccessful attempts to unzip the "Retail_Stores.zip: file and receiving the error message:

    "Unable to unarchive 'Retail_Stores.zip' into 'xxx'. (Error 2 - No such file or directory.)" ,

    I tried downloading the file from Tom Tom's web site today. The file now starts to unzip, but hangs when it displays "Retail_Stores.bmp" with the thermometer progress bar being completely filled.

    I am using a Mac (OS 10.4.8) and Stuffit Expander (v. 11).

    Is anyone else having this problem? Has anyone been able to work around this problem?
     
    arcfjss, Feb 3, 2007
    #16
  17. fanchee

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I have no idea. I d/led it through HOME lol.
     
    Nextourer, Feb 3, 2007
    #17
  18. fanchee

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Here it is....

    This is what I downloaded a week or two ago when this first appeared on TT.

    Enjoy.
     

    Attached Files:

    fanchee, Feb 3, 2007
    #18
  19. fanchee

    sscott

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Rider
    Thank you for posting this file fanchee! Here it is March and TT still has not fixed this link. However your file worked fine.:D
     
    sscott, Mar 5, 2007
    #19
  20. fanchee

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    You're welcome, glad it worked for you. I'm surprised TT hasn't fixed this, but I haven't checked as I HAVE the file. :)
     
    fanchee, Mar 5, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.