An analysis of the value of community-submitted POIs for major retail chains

Hello all,

I've spent several hours downloading and examining many of the community-produced chain-specific POI databases available through TomTom (e.g., Target, Trader Joes, CVS, etc.), and I've come to some conclusions I'd like to share. I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts, since I'm new at this:

1. Broadly speaking, all the big retail, motel, pharmacy, restaurant, etc. chains (Borders, Coffee Bean, Target, Staples, CVS, Ralphs, Trader Joes, Whole Foods, Motel6, etc.) are already included within the standard TomTom-provided database. Further, after carefully comparing several of the community-produced chain-specific databases with what TomTom supplies (verifying against the store locator websites for these chains) I found that, in general, to the extent there were discrepancies, the errors were almost always in the community-produced POI files. [Most typically, this was for stores that were recently opened or recently closed; i.e., the main advantage of the TomTom-supplied information seems simply that it is kept more up-to-date.] Thus, if a chain is already included in the TomTom-supplied standard download, it seems there is no need to (and it is perhaps best not to, in order to avoid being misled) additionally download a chain-specific database from the TomTom community (or at least, if the TomTom community database says there is a store but the TomTom database doesn’t, then you should call that store to make sure it is really there).