Restore factory settings

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DentalTourist, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. DentalTourist

    DentalTourist

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I'm a newbie and haven't found where to post this but I'm sure the moderator will.

    I got my XL Europe yesterday and everything works fine. Today it doesn't, I turn it on and it shows the splash screen and then it makes like it's connecting to my computer. There is a yellow progress bar at the bottom and when it gets to the end it turns itself off.

    Tried connecting to my PC and the damn thing works. Tried to restore the default factory settings in the Preferences menu and it's greyed out. Tried using the paperclip to reset and that doesn't work.

    Rang TomTom. Spoke to a nice lady who said she would send me some instructions and hasn't. I told her my email address (gp-web) and she spelt it phonetically starting with G for Juliette. I don't hold much hope for a reply if this is the standard of operators.
     
    DentalTourist, Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DentalTourist

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Try to do the restore manually and not use HOME.

    located your backup, usually located in your documents/TomTom/HOME/backups

    Copy all of the back up and paste it to your TomTom Drive.
    Good luck.
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 25, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DentalTourist

    DentalTourist

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing to copy in the back up it's empty
     
    DentalTourist, Oct 25, 2007
    #3
  4. DentalTourist

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    It usually means there is no backup.

    But if you remember making a backup then try to locate it.

    Open HOME and click on File then preference. Select the advanced tab and look at the backup directory see if it stored somewhere else.

    Good Luck
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 25, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Pedro2NR

    Cheesecake Factory - 1.3

    Pedro2NR, Feb 3, 2007, in forum: Restuarants & Food Related
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    5,319
    Meatius
    Jul 28, 2008
  2. Nextourer

    ONE and HOME memory loss + Factory Setting Question

    Nextourer, Mar 12, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,336
    battom
    Mar 12, 2007
  3. NYLaw
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,579
    lec510
    Mar 26, 2007
  4. steff

    reset to factory settings

    steff, Dec 21, 2007, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    20,132
    Birdman
    Dec 21, 2007
  5. zhong

    Re-set hole vs. Reset factory settings on 930

    zhong, Sep 13, 2009, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    3,245
    mikealder
    Sep 13, 2009
  6. Jekyll

    Restore GO 730 to complete factory defaults

    Jekyll, Dec 27, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    8,957
  7. hioctane
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,012
  8. painter1872

    factory settings

    painter1872, Nov 30, 2016, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    447
    painter1872
    Dec 3, 2016
Loading...