QuickFix not working anymore

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by TomTomGoblin, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. TomTomGoblin

    TomTomGoblin

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    My GPS QuickFix was working like a charm before the latest major application update.. I used to get a fix usually within 10 seconds but never longer than a minute. Ever since I got TomTom Home 2.1 (software version 7.131/map version 665.1293) it takes 3-5 minutes or longer to get the initial lock. Has anyone else had this problem? Any ideas on how to fix it?

    I still see the QuickFix get updated every week or so (whenver I plug in) but it doesn't seem to be working.

    I really like the new features (well I guess mainly being able to preview a POI before selecting it) but the gps fix taking so long each time I turn the device on is really annoying!
     
    TomTomGoblin, Nov 13, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TomTomGoblin

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Hey TTGoblin, I also experience the same thing with the new firmwire. I just rolled back to the previous firmwire because it takes me at least 2-3 minutes to get a fix.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 13, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TomTomGoblin

    roclucky1

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    quickfix

    I have the same problem.
     
    roclucky1, Nov 13, 2007
    #3
  4. TomTomGoblin

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Ditto. Navcore 7 rendered QuickGPSFix on ONE models useless. =(.
     
    Nextourer, Nov 14, 2007
    #4
  5. TomTomGoblin

    propus

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Langhorne, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE 2nd Ed.
    After the Navcore 7 upgrade I didn't notice a lag in fix time. But after the last GPS QuickFix update my TT1 took about 2 - 3 min to get a fix. We'll just have to watch the next couple of fixes.
     
    propus, Nov 14, 2007
    #5
  6. TomTomGoblin

    threecats2many

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the slowness came from the 11/10 or so QuickFix update. My 910 was fine all weekend even after installing 7.120, but after my latest Quickfix update, finding satellites is taking 8-10 minutes. I am hoping the next upload corrects this problem.
     
    threecats2many, Nov 14, 2007
    #6
  7. TomTomGoblin

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I too just recently noticed some delay in getting satellite fix. It would take minutes to get a single sat, and then it would drop right away where I have to wait more before I cant get sats again.
     
    digital-flex, Nov 14, 2007
    #7
  8. TomTomGoblin

    zerimar

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    St. Gallen, Switzerland
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    I very rarely experience this problem, in fact if I switch off then on my device after downloading a quickfix, I get an instant sat fix. The only difference I notice with v7.160 is that signal strength is not that good, usually 4 of 5 bars only. I used to get full signal strength with v6.5x.
     
    zerimar, Nov 14, 2007
    #8
  9. TomTomGoblin

    ludde28

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem to me after uppdating to 7.131 (TT1 v2 with map6.75)
    Using TTHome 2.1
    I have turned OFF automatic start of suntime.
    It shortened fixation time from over 3-4min to about 30-120sec.
     
    ludde28, Nov 15, 2007
    #9
  10. TomTomGoblin

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    so you're saying SDK might have something to do with the lock times?
     
    Nextourer, Nov 15, 2007
    #10
  11. TomTomGoblin

    jimj

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Carolina
    TomTom Model(s):
    TTGO 910
    My 910 is very slow to get gps lock after the latest update and seems to not see as many satellites also.
     
    jimj, Nov 15, 2007
    #11
  12. TomTomGoblin

    TomTomGoblin

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    How did you rollback to the previous firmware? Did you restore manually from a backup? Did you have to reinstall the old version of the desktop TomTom Home software?

    I find it interesting that some people only recently (past week or so) had an issue as I've had an issue once Navcore 7 was installed.
     
    TomTomGoblin, Nov 16, 2007
    #12
  13. TomTomGoblin

    ludde28

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    to nextourer:
    Suntime was developed for TT(1) with navcore6.xx
    Somehow it still works with navcore7.xx (witch is god), but I think that the autostart of suntime interfear the satelite fixation (slows it down).
    So now i start suntime manualy, if I drive long.
     
    ludde28, Nov 16, 2007
    #13
  14. TomTomGoblin

    Albion

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Strangely my 7.xxx release prior to 7.131 had this problem, but 7.131
    fixed it. I noted that when trying to find a satellite fix, the UTC time on the
    satellite display reset to 00:00:00 on boot - with 7.131 it showed
    the correct time again.

    Currently running: App 7.131, GPS 1.21, Map 675.1409

    Have you tried a hard reset? Perhaps there's some temporary data that
    needs clearing?
     
    Albion, Nov 16, 2007
    #14
  15. TomTomGoblin

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    I had the old firmwire still in my HOME folder and I installed over the new firmwire.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 16, 2007
    #15
  16. TomTomGoblin

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    ohh ok. I'll give that a shot. Thx!
     
    Nextourer, Nov 17, 2007
    #16
  17. TomTomGoblin

    TomTomGoblin

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried a hard reset of the device and it didn't seem to help.. but my TomTom just got a navcore update and according to the release notes http://www.tomtom.com/support/index.php?FID=6141&Lid=1 the new version 7.161 "Solves slower first time GPS fixes reported by some TomTom GO 510/710/910 and TomTom ONE users after updating the device to version 7".

    I'm crossing my fingers.. will try it out today.
     
    TomTomGoblin, Nov 22, 2007
    #17
    1 person likes this.
  18. TomTomGoblin

    zerimar

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    St. Gallen, Switzerland
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    zerimar, Nov 22, 2007
    #18
    1 person likes this.
  19. TomTomGoblin

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Yeah the new app does work in reducing sat lock times.
     
    Nextourer, Nov 22, 2007
    #19
    1 person likes this.
  20. TomTomGoblin

    TomTomGoblin

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    This update seems to be a winner for me so far! I tried 3 separate times and it got a lock within 15 seconds! Read the other thread too zerimar.. thanks!
     
    TomTomGoblin, Nov 23, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Yankees in five

    Kindston 2GB SD card not recognized anymore?

    Yankees in five, May 30, 2008, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,067
    Yankees in five
    May 31, 2008
  2. Beno 44

    iPhone 3G not pairing anymore

    Beno 44, Sep 2, 2008, in forum: Bluetooth/Phone Connectivity
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,345
  3. roadrunner8200

    Can not pick Street or poi anymore?

    roadrunner8200, Oct 10, 2008, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,001
    sageuvagony
    Oct 22, 2008
  4. nicholb

    Quickfix doesn't seem to be working anymore

    nicholb, Feb 10, 2009, in forum: TomTom Services
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,711
    nicholb
    Feb 12, 2009
  5. Grumpy_Aero_Guy

    Interesting --- QuickFix may not matter soon...

    Grumpy_Aero_Guy, May 19, 2009, in forum: TomTom Services
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    2,271
    sageuvagony
    May 28, 2009
  6. trikdacy

    T-Mobile - Does not support TomTom anymore

    trikdacy, Aug 27, 2009, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    876
  7. coupable
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,343
  8. rockey_f_squirrell

    Tom not announing street names anymore, what happened?

    rockey_f_squirrell, Jan 11, 2011, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    729
    mikealder
    Jan 11, 2011
Loading...