Quickfix doesn't seem to be working anymore


Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
87
Location
Burnsville, MN
TomTom Model(s)
720
Is anyone else having problems with the quickfix not seeming to work? For about a week now my 720 has been acting like it does not have a quickfix. I have successfully updated the quickfix both using the wireless update, and through Home on my PC, but it is still taking 1 to 2 minutes to find the satellites. Just wondering if this is a current problem, or specific to my 720 before I do a more troubleshooting.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16
Quick fix

I have a 720 also and have the same problem. Always picked up the signal almost instantly. Now it sometimes takes 2 or 3 min. Been that way for almost a week. Any help out there?
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
33
From time to time, TT has problems with the QuickGPSFix ephemeris files. When you get the bad one, you have issues acquiring the satellites.
I've deleted the /ephem directory a long time ago. While the device takes a bit more time to acquire the sats before driving, I never again had any issue. The device is just running correctly without the QuickGPSFix.
These only permit to acquire the sats more rapidly. However, when the acquisition is done, you don't need the QuickGPSFix.

--pilsit
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Also having problems. Quickgpsfix identifys a location quickly, but its about a mile off. After 2-3 minutes the "real" ephemeris comes in from the satellites and it locks onto the correct location.

Tomtom's definitely got a bug in their ephemeris. Anyone in europe having problems? Maybe the US military redrifted their satellietes differently in europe and the US and tomtom synced ephemeris positions in europe. They may not even know that the US is out of drift.

We should call/email support. With enough emails they'll realize there's an issue (if they don't already know).
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
578
Location
Lowell, MA
TomTom Model(s)
GO920
Also having problems. Quickgpsfix identifys a location quickly, but its about a mile off. After 2-3 minutes the "real" ephemeris comes in from the satellites and it locks onto the correct location.

Tomtom's definitely got a bug in their ephemeris. Anyone in europe having problems? Maybe the US military redrifted their satellietes differently in europe and the US and tomtom synced ephemeris positions in europe. They may not even know that the US is out of drift.

We should call/email support. With enough emails they'll realize there's an issue (if they don't already know).
I've been having this problem for long time.
As I said here many time, I must sacrify either "take long time, 2 or 3 minutes and get correct location" or "take much less time, 5 to 30 seconds and get 1/2 miles off"
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2009
Messages
23
Location
PA
TomTom Model(s)
720
i just got mines and was wondering if it was only me. im getting the same issue. this is sad
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
33
forget about all that. Only delete the /ephem directory and the TT works well.
I'm not using the /ephem directory (the QuickGPSFix) since over one year, and have never had problems with the sat acquisition.

--pilsit
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
19
Location
Central Texas
TomTom Model(s)
One XL
Odd. Using TomTom Home, we'd get a new QuickFix file to upload to our One XL every week, but we have not received a single QuickFix update in 2009, although we continue to get MapShare updates.:confused:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
87
Location
Burnsville, MN
TomTom Model(s)
720
It looks like it is working again. I downloaded a quickfix on Tuesday and the 720 is picking up the satalites right away again.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top