problems with tomtom home

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by russelln114, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. I have a tomtom one s. I am having a problem updating the Quickgpsfix. An error message pops up saying "This device is being used by another task"ERROR: DesktopLib/SimpleTask/Locked: The device is being used by another task.
    @ .\framework\SimpleTask.cpp(62)
    class DeviceItemsTask: locked Collecting Trip Recording upload data,wanted Scanning device
    in .\framework\SimpleTask.cpp:62
    Stack:
    0. function errorAbortTask chrome://tthome/content/logic/ttTask.js:445
    error(e);
    1. function error chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1109
    else if (errorNonFatal)
    2. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:520
    },
    3. unknown
    4. chrome://tthome/content/ui/subtask/update/update.js:111
    {
    5. chrome://tthome/content/logic/util.js:77
    return func.apply(obj, arguments);
    6. chrome://tthome/content/logic/login.js:59
    successCallback();
    7. function validateNext chrome://tthome/content/logic/login.js:245
    validationSuccessful();
    8. chrome://tthome/content/logic/loginDeviceRel.js:90
    acceptCallback();
    9. chrome://tthome/content/logic/comm.js:424
    this.successCallback(this.resultXML);
    10. chrome://tthome/content/logic/comm.js:413
    this._doneCallbacks();
    11. chrome://tthome/content/logic/comm.js:273
    this.request.onload = function() { me._done(true); }

    Time: Sun, 25 Jan 2009 05:04:59 GMT. Other times during install it says "cannot create this file l:/ephem/packedephemeris.ee I am stuck. I cannot update my gpsfix. Any help would be great.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
    russelln114, Jan 25, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. russelln114

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try this. Use Windows Explorer and delete everything you find in the 'ephem' (no quotes, lower case) folder on your unit and, as well, delete everything you find in this folder: C:\Documents and Settings\yourname\My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Downloads\complete\ephemeris

    and try again.
     
    dhn, Jan 25, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help. It seems like it helped, however now i have a new problem. Whenever i try to store a favorite a red box pops up saying "Unable to store map settings, file access error". It still stores my favorite, so i am clueless as to what the problem is. This also happens when i try to make a change in the correction preferences dealing with map corections. Please help me. I reset the unit but it didn't help.
     
    russelln114, Jan 26, 2009
    #3
  4. russelln114

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Look here for a solution.
     
    dhn, Jan 26, 2009
    #4
  5. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks but that didn't help. I read while searching this site that someone ran a scandisk on their memory and this solved the problem. How do i do this? It seems foreign to me. I have windows xp.
     
    russelln114, Jan 26, 2009
    #5
  6. russelln114

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Open My Computer, highlight the (connected) drive depicting the TT unit, right click, properties, check for errors.
     
    dhn, Jan 26, 2009
    #6
  7. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no luck. This problem happened after you told me to do the above.
     
    russelln114, Jan 27, 2009
    #7
  8. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mabye i'm not running the flash tool right. I downloaded it to my desktop then i connected my tomtom,hit yes to connect to the computer then i hit the flash tool icon. The flash tool downloads it to the tomtom then it says its finished.
     
    russelln114, Jan 27, 2009
    #8
  9. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update. I found a way to get it off. First i reset the unit. I then restored it back to it's original settings. Something has to be wrong with tomtom home because when i then hook it up to tt home do a gps fix update and the same original problem starts over again that i described to you in my first post (cannot create this file l:/ephem/packedephemeris.ee) then it makes the unit send an error message (Unable to store map settings, file access error). What a nightmare. Please Please help me
     
    russelln114, Jan 27, 2009
    #9
  10. russelln114

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Call support at 866-486-6866.
     
    dhn, Jan 27, 2009
    #10
  11. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i called the number you gave me today. After trying several things, they told me to send the unit back to them for replacement. The person i talked to was very infomative. He explained to me that tomtoms have a (good) reverse trojon in them and when i connected it to the computer my antivirus and spybot search and destroy saw this reverse trojon as bad and killed it causing my error messages. Hearing this the solution to the problem is to disable my antivirus and spybot when connecting my tomtom to my computer. He also said that it's not something they stress because they don't want a lawsuit slapped on them. Hopefully this will help the many people who complain including me with the dreaded Unable to store map settings, file access error we have on our tomtoms.
     
    russelln114, Jan 27, 2009
    #11
  12. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope a lot of people are reading this. I did some searching on the web and what i'm finding tells me that i should have my antivirus running. Is this guy telling me the truth? Does anyone have any input on this?
     
    russelln114, Jan 28, 2009
    #12
  13. russelln114

    russelln114

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't got any responces yet. Are they full of it or not?
     
    russelln114, Feb 6, 2009
    #13
  14. russelln114

    Scorpion

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    One
    You can try:http://us.support.tomtom.com/cgi-bi...XJyb3IgZHVyaW5nIHBsYW5uaW5n&p_li=&p_topview=1 Then you could take a look here:http://us.support.tomtom.com/cgi-bi...p_search_text=Error+during+planning&x=16&y=10* Windows users only: This is an optional Microsoft update which can be downloaded here. While TomTom HOME is not dependent upon .NET Framework, this installation may repair other Windows components which HOME shares with the .NET installation. If you prefer, you can try to repair your Windows installation, however we recommend that you contact your computer manufacturer for instructions and to determine if this is an appropriate action for you.

    I'm not sure if this is the case, but with Framework involved, it sounds like it might help.
     
    Scorpion, Feb 12, 2009
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.