poor gps signal

Discussion in 'Navcore' started by scouser51850, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. scouser51850

    scouser51850

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtomxln14644
    My tomtom xl has a poor gps signal and is unusable, if anybody has any answers,I would be very grateful.


    Cheers Alan.
     
    scouser51850, Jan 18, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. scouser51850

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    All the time or are you inside a building?
     
    Arno, Jan 18, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. scouser51850

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,843
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Lots of questions come to mind.
    By any chance have you changed the vehicle in which you are using it, and did the problem begin after that change?
    Check the satellite status page in and out of the vehicle. How many gray bars and how many blue ones? Blue ones at what height?
     
    canderson, Jan 18, 2014
    #3
  4. scouser51850

    scouser51850

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtomxln14644
    Thank you for your reply. I am using the same vehicle, I have left the unit on for two whole days, and no bars at all, it is taking the updates just fine, so its saying, either poor signal, or waiting for a signal. cheers Alan.
     
    scouser51850, Jan 19, 2014
    #4
  5. scouser51850

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,843
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Time for a hard reset if you get no bars at all. The "n14644" that you quote is on many TomTom units - it's a regulatory registration number, not part of the model number - so still not sure which model you own. That said, if it has a separate reset button in a hole in the bottom of the unit (it WILL say 'reset' nearby if true), gently give it a poke with a paper clip or similar for a few seconds. If not, hold down the main power button for about 20 seconds until you see the TomTom logo and hear the drums start.

    Once your unit has been hard booted via one of the above, let us know if your situation improves.
     
    canderson, Jan 19, 2014
    #5
  6. scouser51850

    scouser51850

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtomxln14644
    My unit did not improve, still the same, poor gps signal, and waiting for gps signal.

    Cheers Alan.
     
    scouser51850, Jan 19, 2014
    #6
  7. scouser51850

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,843
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That's not good. Are you always testing from the same location?

    Let's assume your ephemeris files may be bad and misleading the device about where it should expect the satellites to be.

    Connect your device to your PC. Allow Home to initialize. When it offers to update things, just hit "Back" to decline all updates for now.
    Minimize Home to get it out of your way, but don't shut it down.
    Using your PC, delete all files in the 'ephem' folder on the device itself (do not delete the folder, just the files within).
    Using your PC, locate the folder named My Documents / TomTom / HOME / Download / complete / ephemeris.
    Using your PC, delete all folders inside the ephemeris folder called QuickGPSfix or QuickGPSfix-{number}
    Bring Home back into view.
    Click on "Update my device" (or "Update my XL", or whatever your version says) in the lower left corner.
    You should be offered, at a minimum, QuickGPSfix. Accept that, and click "Update and install".
    Be sure to use Home to properly disconnect your device.

    Any better?
     
    canderson, Jan 19, 2014
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.