POI + symbol on the 620 models

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by tomtom620, Oct 26, 2018.

  1. tomtom620

    tomtom620

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    500,620,1000
    I recently bought the 620 moel and apart from it being vastly different from previous models have been happy. I tried the other day to add some POI's oon therre and was shocked to discover that you cannot add the symbol like you could on the older models. I emaile TomTom and they seem to have ignored my e-mail.

    i was wondering if anyone else on here had the same response or any other from them? It seems like they hae taken a step backwards which is a bit mad.
     
    tomtom620, Oct 26, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tomtom620

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,773
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Sorry but you can't add custom poi bmps as you could in older models.
     
    dhn, Oct 26, 2018
    #2
    tomtom620 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. tomtom620

    tomtom620

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    500,620,1000
    Hi

    Thanks for the reply. I know, such a shame, I was asking if anyone on this forum had asked TomTom about it, I was interested to see if they had any plans to give a software 'fix' at some point as .I don't understand it.
     
    tomtom620, Oct 26, 2018
    #3
  4. tomtom620

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,444
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    The only way we are likely to ever be able to add custom POI icons is if they change the MyDrive web system to accept icons along with the POI files, and we haven't seen any activity in that direction yet. Not sure if there ever will be. So for now you are stuck with their factory icon set.
     
    canderson, Oct 26, 2018
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.