Pay to update Tomtom One 130 S or new TomTom?

Discussion in 'TomTom News & Announcements' started by scrabble, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. scrabble

    scrabble

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 130S
    I have had a TomTom One 130S for about six years. Should I buy a new one or should I pay to update the maps? Advice appreciated, please. I am going to Florida and want current locations and accurate directions. Thanks much.
     
    scrabble, Apr 23, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. scrabble

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,086
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Apr 23, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. scrabble

    scrabble

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 130S
    Very irritated, paid $79 for map update & Illinois not on my GPS

    :mad:Well, I paid $79 for a map update for my TomTom One 130S and now the state that I live in which is Illinois is not even on my GPS. What a letdown!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don't know what to do now, what a waste of my money.:mad:
     
    scrabble, Apr 24, 2013
    #3
  4. scrabble

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Check if you have Map Zones. You may need to download one that includes Illinois?

    I just updated my ONE V2 (about a year older than yours IIRC) with 905 "USA_and_Canada" maps (I'm guessing "North America" was gone with the new set of devices?)

    IL is on my device.
     
    Nextourer, Apr 24, 2013
    #4
  5. scrabble

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I don't know if it matters but my ONE New Edition (North America model) doesn't have bluetooth handsfree but it uses bluetooth for traffic (mostly non-smartphone phones can pair. My iPhone cannot).

    Also, it has TomTom Buddies and TomTom Weather (under TomTom PLUS Services button)
     
    Nextourer, Apr 24, 2013
    #5
  6. scrabble

    scrabble

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 130S
    Please, is there a phone number to contact TomTom? I would appreciate it
    As I have been on the computer for hours trying to get
    A map update for $79.95 and I am so frustrated as I will admit
    I am tech challenged. Now, when I turn my TomTom on, all I see
    Is funny little symbols that look like traffic lights. I had no idea what I
    Was getting into or I never would have paid the fee for updates. :sad:
     
    scrabble, Apr 24, 2013
    #6
  7. scrabble

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,086
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    1-866-486-6866
     
    dhn, Apr 24, 2013
    #7
  8. scrabble

    scrabble

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 130S
    Thank you, I will try and call them this morning. My TomTom One 130 is now useless.:confused::mad::sad::sad:
     
    scrabble, Apr 24, 2013
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.