Need Help -- Adding Waypoints in Tyre

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by Hondo, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. Hondo

    Hondo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have several route files created in Tyre. I need to edit these files in Tyre to add more waypoints in order to force TomTom to follow the desired route. How can I do this? The "edit" function in Tyre allows you to move an existing waypoint, but I can't see any way to insert an additional waypoint after the file has been saved. What am I missing?

    Thanks.
     
    Hondo, Jun 20, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hondo

    dmk

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Waypoints

    Hondo:

    Are you using Google Maps with it? If not you should just hit the show route under the waypoints menu and then Google Maps is loaded. Once its loaded just left click where ever you want a waypoint to be and it should show up.
     
    dmk, Jun 20, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Hondo

    Hondo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, this works when I am creating a new route, but it does not work when I open a saved file and try to add new waypoints to that file.

    But, I think I found a solution. I can start a new route and click New Waypoint "From file" and import the waypoints from the file. Then I can add new waypoints with the left-click and save the new route file over the old file. Sort of a round-about way, but it works.


     
    Hondo, Jun 20, 2008
    #3
  4. Hondo

    johnling

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hondo - I'll assume you marked the begin and end point and your route was laid out. Now you want to add waypoint in between to force the route to remain the same on the TomTom. On the left side of the screen in Tyre the waypoints are shown. Tyre does not auto arrange the waypoints. Click a waypoint and the little info area pops up. You can then choose <UP> or <Down> to arrange your waypoints in the order you desire.

    Tyre is a great little program and produces the end result. As it evolves I hope the author can add an auto arrange feature. Until then I can live with it.

    Someone has set up a nice tutorial here; http://home.comcast.net/~spheasant1/Google_itinerary.html

    This may help.
     
    johnling, Jun 20, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.