Just Got a TomTom ONE XL - Lots of Questions

Hello all.

I recently purchased a TomTom ONE XL and I am hoping that you folks can get me pointed in the right direction in terms of making the most of my new device as I am new to the whole navigation world.

I browsed these forums as much as I could to get as many answers as I could, so I apologize in advance for asking questions that may have been asked many times but aren't so easy to find in a search.

1) My TomTom doesn't know how to get to my home or office. From home to work it has me getting off the freeway 3 exits early and driving through about 4 miles of extra residential and industrial areas. Coming home it has me making a right off the freeway instead of a left which has me going an extra mile in the wrong direction. In the short time that I have used it I have also been directed to make a left turn where a left is impossible. Even after I go what I know to be the shortest and most efficient route, it still has me going off into odd directions. It also thinks that my office is about 200 yards from where it is. I live and work in Silicon Valley BTW.

a) Will my device learn on its own from realizing that I keep ignoring its advice or do I have to manually make these course corrections?

b) I just did an update and registered for the Mapshare (?) service. Will this add a lot of map data that I may have been missing and get more accurate routes?

2. 3rd party software. Is anything worth installing? I saw Tripmaster here in the forums but I don't even know what it does. The site is in French. I don't know that I need 3rd party software but if there is something out there that will make my TomTom as accurate as Google maps, I'd be happy to give it a shot. Perhaps free voices, better graphics (not that there is anything wrong with the TomTom interface), more POIs, etc?