Just bought TT v.2 - have a question

I could probably sift through the pages of this forum and find answers to my question, but hopefully this will be quicker and less painful, as I am kind of new to the GPS game.
This afternoon, I just purchased the TomTom One from Staples (good price... $199), but realized it is a TomTom v2 instead of v3. I noticed on the web site that it says that within the first 30 days of buying it, if your maps are not up to date that you will get a map update for free, but this was in reference to the v3. Does anyone know if this is still true of the v2 as well? I am currently wondering if I should open it or return it because I'm worried about having a unit with really out of date maps that I am going to immediately have to drop money out to have updated. I've seen some threads reference a serial # and what letter it starts with, and it appears on the outside of the box that this starts with a Z. If anyone has any info that might help, i'd appreciate it lots.

Thanks!

i have the v2 also. just purchased last week. i went through all of this with tomtom support a few days ago about the maps installed which are version 665.1293. tomtom support told me that this was the latest map release for this unit, although i know version 6.75 comes on the 3rd edition tomtom's. are they lying? i think so, but either way they refuse to upgrade the map on the v2 that i just purchased.