What have I bought?

Discussion in 'Navcore' started by Cirq, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. Cirq

    Cirq

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL 250 TomTom One
    Guys, bought a used TT XL 250 the other day, and wondered about the software. So far all I did was back it up. Unit ID: 4ET03 ( 4ET0.002.03 )
    Eventually, I'm looking at the hack to enable better speed alerts and auto switching off and on. Better not mention where that is.
    Anyway my unit is as follows:
    Device AK5ZE AJD8A
    App 9.465.1074274.2 OS 842337
    (2025, 27/9/2012)
    64Mb RAM (free: 25.3 MB)
    GPS v1.20 BOOT 5.5282
    NF Mark NF 469-12/29, 12/30, 12/34 to 12 12/42
    MAP: "Australia" V885.4021
    Language: UK English

    Wondered what can be found out about it? Thks. :cool::cool:
     
    Cirq, Dec 12, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Cirq

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Any discussion concerning hacked software of the application, maps or anything else is not appropriate in this forum.
     
    dhn, Dec 12, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Cirq

    Cirq

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL 250 TomTom One
    Followup

    Okay. Can you show me how to edit my post, or, if that's not possible, can you please delete it. Thanks.
    BTW I did read the Forum rules and thought I was okay.
     
    Cirq, Dec 12, 2012
    #3
  4. Cirq

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,837
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    It's OK as far as it went (right up to the edge). dhn was just warning, I think, that it should not go further.

    As to what you bought ... you have a reasonably competent little device with maps that are about 9 months old (not too bad). The software on it is current.

    It's an IQRoutes2 device, so it has a couple less features than some other units. Without the first two characters of the serial number, I can't tell you if it has 1GB or 2GB of internal memory. It should text to speech and a 'computer' voice enabled that accomplishes that (spoken street names).
     
    canderson, Dec 12, 2012
    #4
  5. Cirq

    Cirq

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL 250 TomTom One
    Thanks Canderson. I want to keep within the boudaries for sure.
    Not knowing much about the various software configurations I was unsure whether this was a h*cked system I had got hold of, or one that appeared to have been legitimally upgraded. I am perfectly happy to use it as it is. And I am yet to test it fully in the vehicle. I am trying to get to spoken speed alerts like on the old TT One. Whether that is possible or not with the XL remains for me to find out. Of course the hardware is capable of it, it's just that *nice* features are turned off on the cheaper models.
    Thanks again.
     
    Cirq, Dec 12, 2012
    #5
  6. Cirq

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,837
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    canderson, Dec 13, 2012
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.