1535 TM bought for wife..need info..

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by starkiller, May 14, 2013.

  1. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    Got a stupendous deal on one of these $55.80 and since her Magellen is a piece of junk i thought what the heck and bought one. Now can anyone share tips and tricks and hints and such so I can get this set up for her quick and easy like..?? Be great having lifetime maps and traffic so that's pretty cool. I know i will be downloading the newest maps tonight probably:sad::D....

    thanks!
     
    starkiller, May 14, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. starkiller

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,908
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    First thing to do is to work your way through ALL of the menus, observing what features are available, and how they can be configured. Options like always/ask/no for toll roads, for example.

    If you have questions about how any of the features work, please drop us a line here and we'll try to clarify things as needed.
     
    canderson, May 14, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    Thanks, can do the menu thing once i download all the maps and stuff..will be doing that at night so hopefully it will go faster:D As far as menus and stuff go, she isn't one to peruse to even look at directions, options etc...so this might be fun..though at least its not the Magellen mess.
     
    starkiller, May 14, 2013
    #3
  4. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    The unit is working really well but can't figure out how to set it to come on when you turn the car on. It turns off ok but not on..am i missing something??
     
    starkiller, May 22, 2013
    #4
  5. starkiller

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Settings-->Battery SAving-->Click 'next'-->Check 'Device Switches on ....'
     
    dhn, May 22, 2013
    #5
  6. starkiller

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Just to be clear... is this a GO 1535 or a VIA 1535?
    I think from the "TM" at the it must be a VIA, but the opportunity for confusion is always just around the corner with TT's ever-increasingly stupid numbering systems!

    (OLD GO500 or NEW GO500 anyone? :rant:)
     
    Andy_P, May 22, 2013
    #6
  7. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    Here's the interesting part, the box says Via 1535 TM but when registering the serial number TOMTOM says its a Via 135..??
     
    starkiller, May 22, 2013
    #7
  8. starkiller

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Yes, not an issue.............

    TomTom in an application update some time ago (a month or so, maybe longer) altered the code so that the device would indeed show as a Via 135 (which I think it's known as in the UK and Australia)

    It will NOT affect any updates you implement on the device................
     
    dhn, May 22, 2013
    #8
  9. starkiller

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,908
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yes, agreed not an issue. To clarify further:

    Via 135 = Europe
    Via 1535 = North America
    Via 280 = Australasia

    All cases, 4GB unit with uSD slot.
     
    canderson, May 23, 2013
    #9
  10. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    The issue is there does not seem to be a way to set the unit to come on when you turn the key...looked at the battery saving under settings and nothing there for that issue...
     
    starkiller, May 24, 2013
    #10
  11. starkiller

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,908
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I have one in front of me here...

    Settings
    Battery saving
    Next (next screen!)
    Device switches on when connected to power -- CHECK!
    Done

    Of course, this presupposes that your wife's car has one or more outlets that is switched with the ignition, and not 'always on', but that's the case for most cars.
     
    canderson, May 24, 2013
    #11
  12. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    Hmm, will have to check that out later on today then....:sigh: I be old, go easy on me....
     
    starkiller, May 24, 2013
    #12
  13. starkiller

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,908
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Side bet on which of us is older? :p
     
    canderson, May 24, 2013
    #13
  14. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    Sure..you first :)
     
    starkiller, May 24, 2013
    #14
  15. starkiller

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Well, I am in my dirty year.
    Can you match or better that?
     
    Arno, May 25, 2013
    #15
  16. starkiller

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,908
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You weren't in the running, Arno, but I'm less than a year behind you.

    @Starkiller:
    I was born just about the time that old Joe Stalin died.
     
    canderson, May 25, 2013
    #16
  17. starkiller

    starkiller

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 TM
    Gad, you're YEARS older then me..well, actually only 4:D
     
    starkiller, May 25, 2013
    #17
  18. starkiller

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,023
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Ah.......children! :rant:
     
    dhn, May 25, 2013
    #18
  19. starkiller

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    That would make you 10 years younger than I.
     
    Arno, May 26, 2013
    #19
  20. starkiller

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,908
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That's why we didn't let you play in this round, Arno!

    That said, I thought you were coming up with a colloquial expression for 60. Where'd you see that for 70?
     
    canderson, May 26, 2013
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.