Help me decide which TomTom!

TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
Hi all! I'm a newbie here and to the GPS world. I'm deciding between the TomTom ONE, the TomTom ONE 3rd Edition, and the TomTom XL. Once I figure it out I will let the hubby know which one to get me for Christmas :D . Forgive me and my silly questions, but I am really new to the world of GPS. I used the GPS Navigation program available from Verizon on my Razr the other day and now I want a real Navigation system in my truck (an '06 Tacoma). So here are my questions:

What is the difference between these 3 models?
Will any of these 3 models come with POIs? talking turn-by-turn directions?
Are TomToms ready to use straight from the box?

That's all I'll ask for now. In the meantime I will check around the forum.

10/19: I am now also considering the XL*S

Last edited:
My best friend just bought the One XL and absolutely loves it.... likes the bigger screen. I have the 910 and I think his screen is probably the same size as mine...

Interesting info. The ONEXL-S would be similar to the 720, right?

It depends on what you want. If you want text to speech, (which I recommend) I would go for the 720. The 910 also has text to speech but from experience, to mount the unit isn't user friendly compare to the 720.

XL*S...

(Check the TomTom Releases forum for more info). Yes, there's a new model called the XL*S. Except, replace the asterisk with a large dot.

Thre is speculation that a ONE XL-S is coming. The 'S' having Text-to-Speech and will be $50 more than the XL.

Perhaps you might consider waiting.

Link - http://www.gpsreview.net/tomtom-one-xl-s/

I just read about this today! Is the text-to-speech feature when it tells you something like "prepare to turn left ahead....turn left here"? If so, I really like that feature :) and will consider this as another contender. I'm still undecided though.....

Interesting info. The ONEXL-S would be similar to the 720, right?