Go920 slow choppy map color issues

Hello.
I am total newb so please be gentle, ha ha.
I have been searching the forums for a while and have not found a definite answer to my issues. I hope someone can help me.

I had my TT Go920 for one and a half years. It has worked PERFECT until last week when an update came through and I started having satellite locking issues.
Doing a pin reset did not help at all so I decided to do a restore trough TT Home. My back up was from when I first bought the unit.
After doing the restore/back up I connected the TT to TT Home and asked for an update of app 8.351 and some quick fix and other items. Did that and I had no more satellite lock issues but now my maps are SLOW and really choppy.

This is what I am running:
TT Go920
App8.351 OS:315187
64MB RAM (free: 17.2MB)
GPS v1.20, Boot 5.5120
Mp: 'North_America_2GB' v710.1584

Here are the issues I am experiencing:

-Maps will be slow and choppy while driving. Voices are right on queue but the maps will needs about 5-8 seconds to catch up when I make turns or pass streets.

-The landscape on the map will change colors randomly. From tan to white to green to blue for no reason at all.

-It has reseted 3 times in the last 4 days.

I have some questions:

I know I have a WAY old map, do you think that is affecting it since I have the newest app?

Will upgrading to the newest map fix the issues?

Should I go back to 8.350 app? How would I do that? (I am running an iMac by the way)

I really rely on my TT for work. I use it 4 days a week for a total of 5 hours a day. So you can Imagine how I feel when I don't have a fully functional TT.

I greatly appreciate any help.
Thank you in advanced.

How many poi categories do you have showing on the map. Too many cause the slow screen refresh. Usually no more than 4 or 5 max is best.

The map colour changing has been reported by others as well. It's inconsistent.

Have you tried a pin reset?