Go Premium voices


Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go premium
Hiya,
How do I put my own voices on this device?
I upgraded from my TT one XL and would like the voices from it.
I have all of the files from the 1 XL easy.
BUT This new tom tom does not show up in my computer (win7 pro 64b)
I hope I have not just wasted money on this new one.
All I want to do is make my own voice files for it, otherwise I would not have bothered.
Any ideas please?
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,358
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
You're two generations away from 'custom voices', I'm afraid. No can do.

Also, you're right -- this device won't show up on your PC as an external drive. You'd look in Device Manager under Network Adapters instead. The thing is a little mini-server. Also a function of jumping ahead a couple of generations. For the same reason, you won't use Home to work with it and update it, either. The new app is called My Drive.

It's not all good news if you're a fan of the older devices.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go premium
The good news is that up-to-date maps can be loaded onto the new device.
Also POI's, now how about that Fiat 500 car logo, suppose you cannot do that either!
They have taken a lot of fun out of it. It is a shame.
I suppose I will have to repurchase the voices !
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,692
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Since we cannot access the internals you will have to purchase other voices.
I can live with Samantha, the basic voice over here.

No, I do not think other logos are available but why, on earth, do you want a FIAT 500 !!!
FIAT500_11.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go premium
It was my Mum's car. First car I ever drove aged 12.
Pozitano yellow - De Lux, complete with sun roof and extra chrome bull bars.
Makes me smile when I see it on the tt one XL :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,358
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
POIs are no problem. I need to run, but perhaps one of the other moderators can point you to a fairly recent post I made that shows how that is done.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,692
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
POIs are no problem.
I posted "The good news ..." and Smub replied "Also POIs, now how about that Fiat 500 car logo" and interpreted the latter as having installed POIs.

@Smub
Do you still need instructions how to install POIs through the MyDive web app?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go premium
Hi, Thanks for the reply,
I had already worked out POI's I have a caving / potholing one, burger king etc etc
I did manage to look into the directory structure of the TT,
Most interesting :)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top