Go 6000 cradle will not work


Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go 6000
Hi, my go 6000 cradle will not work, it acts like i do not have it plugged in. I have noticed on the internet there is a place that fixes this specific problem and given that a new cradle costs £25 I am wondering if this is an inherent fault in the 6000 cradle and Tom Tom should replace it for me for free. It charges and works fine if i plug it in directly. Has anyone else had this issue and how did you resolve it please ?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Welcome to TomTomForums.

Do you use the same CLA to micro USB cable in the cradle and directly into the 6000?
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go 6000
Hi,
it uses a USB to micro USB, the micro USB connects to the back of the cradle and the unit "docks" into the cradle, although the unit also has a micro USB socket which if I plug the lead in directly works fine. Somehow it is the micro USB connection of the unit it used to work if you held it in a certain position but now doesn't work at all. From looking at different posts on different sites it appears this is a common problem which I wouldn't mind it it were not for the fact that these docks are £25 to pick up even second hand. They are the most expensive docks on the market !!
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Yes, I know exactly what you've got as I used to have a GO 600, only difference to your 6000 is that yours has the second SIM card for live traffic, which has not been offered in North America.
The 6200 uses a magnet in the cradle and the device can be removed with light pressure of thumb and fore finger.
I haven't had my 600 since 4 years but remember that I had to use two hands, one to hold the cradle steady and the other to pull off the device.
I wonder if some of the contacts have been bent on yours, particularly since you said it worked when held in a certain position.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
6
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go 6000
Thanks for your response. The problem is the micro USB connection not the connection to the unit on the cradle. It used to work when you pulled it tight in one direction but no longer does. I think I will try contacting them direct for a replacement ?

Regards,

Jon.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Well, if you use the same cable, that does not work with the cradle, and plug it in the device directly and it works there then the only conclusion left is what you suggested in the first place namely that the cradle is damaged.

Good luck in asking TomTom for a free replacement as the device is about 4+ years old.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Better yet, check ebay UK.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top