tomtom trucker 6000

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by hyperspace, Apr 23, 2019.

  1. hyperspace

    hyperspace

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    truck 6000
    hi new to this forum i have a tom tom trucker 6000 that wont update its running v1001.8637 i have looked on another trucker 6000 and its running v1025.9398 how can i change the version anyone know thanks in advance
     
    hyperspace, Apr 23, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hyperspace

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    That looks like you are talking about maps.
    Can you go Menu > Settings > System >About and tell us
    what it says at Application version and at Installed maps.
     
    Arno, Apr 23, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. hyperspace

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Also, when does your current map subscription expire?
     
    Arno, Apr 23, 2019
    #3
  4. hyperspace

    hyperspace

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    truck 6000
    hi arno its running version 1001.8637 and subscription runs for the life of the tomtom
     
    hyperspace, Apr 24, 2019
    #4
  5. hyperspace

    hyperspace

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    truck 6000
     
    hyperspace, Apr 24, 2019
    #5
  6. hyperspace

    hyperspace

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    truck 6000
    also it will not allow me to connect it to my acccount if i plug into my pc it says update failed
     
    hyperspace, Apr 24, 2019
    #6
  7. hyperspace

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Both, your map and your OS is about 1-1/2 year old.

    When you connect to PC is MyDrive Connect opening up and displays which model TomTom is connected?
    When it opens up it should ask you to enter your user name and password, if it only shows dots for the password delete those and enter your password again.
    Be sure that both are the SAME on MyDrive Connect as on your Trucker 6000.

    What type of PC are you using to connect?
    You may also want to download a fresh version of MDC at https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/mydrive-connect/
    and just install it (no need to remove the existing one).
     
    Arno, Apr 25, 2019
    #7
  8. hyperspace

    hyperspace

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    truck 6000
    yes it opens up but the tomtom trucker is not there also the pc im useing is my dell laptop running windows 7 i have also deleted my mdc's and reinstalled it
     
    hyperspace, Apr 25, 2019
    #8
  9. hyperspace

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    If you start up MDC and connect and switch on your 6000 MDC should show its model name.

    Since you have a current version of MDC I suspect that the USB cable may be the problem.
    W7 is good but can you use a different USB cable to try.


    When connected properly it should look similar to this

    Not-Downloaded_00.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2019
    Arno, Apr 26, 2019
    #9
  10. hyperspace

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,655
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    FWIW, MDC doesn't always show the 'correct' model name. It may come up with an equivalency, but for a model that assures the correct firmware is provided, but in the case of the Trucker, it has to know it's that variant in order to correctly supply the trucker version maps and firmware.

    Here's where I am off the track completely:

    The OP notes that "also it will not allow me to connect it to my acccount if i plug into my pc it says update failed", so it seems MDC does recognize a device of some sort, or that wouldn't be possible, so I don't understand "it opens up but the tomtom trucker is not there". Something must be there to start an update in order for the update to fail.

    To the OP. What does show up as the model in the upper left? Or did it stop recognizing your device when you reinstalled MDC?
     
    canderson, Apr 26, 2019
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.