Does the XL350 consider the day of the week with IQ routes

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by cooter, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. cooter

    cooter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a XL350T. Among other reasons, I was attracted to the IQ routes feature. My old Tomtom didn't have it and I live in Boston. Argh.

    When I was setting it up, I noticed there was no place to tell it the current date or day of the week, just the time. Doesn't IQ routes rely on both time of day AND day of week to plan a route? If so, how does my Tomtom know what day it is?

    Thanks.
     
    cooter, Jan 12, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cooter

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Thanks to the satellites themselves and the data they transmit, your TomTom knows what day of the week it is. In fact, it really could know the time of day if they wanted to sort out when everyone handles daylight time, if they do (Arizona - harumph) and all of the odd lines that make up time zones (they're far from straight, especially goofy between our Central and Mountain zones in NA). Guess they figure you can do it more easily than they can.

    And yes, your TomTom takes day of week and time of day into consideration when doing route planning with IQRoutes enabled.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011
    canderson, Jan 12, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cooter

    cooter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.

    Thanks canderson. That was what I was hoping to hear. Wicked ahsome.
     
    cooter, Jan 12, 2011
    #3
  4. cooter

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    The new app 10.x devices (like the GO2505 and the Via) do automatically figure out your timezone. And it handles Arizona surprisingly well. It even knows that the Navajo Nation observes DST while the rest of Arizona doesn't.
     
    mvl, Jan 15, 2011
    #4
  5. cooter

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yeah - now if they'd just finish the important things instead...
     
    canderson, Jan 15, 2011
    #5
  6. cooter

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    Does it know when the school holidays are? That makes a huge difference in the rush hour!
     
    mccririck, Jan 15, 2011
    #6
  7. cooter

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    From my experience, it doesn't recognize holidays. IQroutes gave me rush-hour-avoiding directions on weekday holidays.
     
    mvl, Jan 18, 2011
    #7
  8. cooter

    gatorguy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 930
    The current version of IQR doesn't recognize specific dates, so summer travel routes are handled just as they would be during winter. Same for holiday traffic. That does make some rural/tourist area, vacation and/or holiday routing inefficient. The revised and updated IQR Plus to be made available to the newly announced 25xx live models will supposedly make seasonal and holiday adjustments. But they're going to be "over the air" as I understand it. With Live services (TomTom servers) not the most reliable, I would hope that they really aren't planning only cellular delivery of IQR Plus, especially with the slow GPRS data stream TomTom has chosen to stick with.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
    gatorguy, Jan 18, 2011
    #8
  9. cooter

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Tomtom mentioned using historical traffic in it's release of HD Traffic 4.0.

    I did notice that starting a few weeks ago, Tomtom appears to now be using LIVE traffic data to "fix" the problem where IQroutes doesn't show roads slower than 10mph.

    So perhaps Tomtom has now enabled that portion of HDT 4.0 in it's USA LIVE server.

    If that's the case, then the seasonal adjustment seems like a rather minor evolution of the service.
     
    mvl, Jan 20, 2011
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.